Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Wyoming State 4-H Foundation Awards $69,000 to State’s Youths

April 6, 2016

The Wyoming State 4-H Foundation has awarded more than $33,000 in new scholarships to Wyoming 4-Hers.    

Additionally, foundation Director Steve Mack says past Ella E. Schloredt scholarship recipients with a grade-point average of at least 3.0 are eligible to continue receiving the scholarship for up to four years. Fifteen continuing scholarships were awarded, ranging from $1,750 to $2,200 for the fall 2016 academic year.

In total, 4-H youths attending the University of Wyoming or a Wyoming community college were awarded more than $69,000 in scholarships for the coming school year, Mack says.

The Wyoming State 4-H Foundation, over the past 20 years, has given between $45,000-$69,000 annually to 4-Hers for college scholarships.

“This total will be over $1 million in just the past 20 years,” Mack says.

The ability to provide for a family, donate within a community and contribute to society at large is enhanced when higher levels of education are achieved, says Johnathan Despain, Wyoming 4-H Program director.

“If 4-H can assist in reducing barriers that may preclude youths from getting an education or engaging in learning, then we try to do our part,” he says. “Whether $300 or $1,750, a few hundred dollars can be the difference between being able to get an education or not.”

Scholarships and first-time recipients by county are:

Ella E. Schloredt first-year awards ($1,750)
Albany -- Thomas Christensen.
Carbon -- Cassidy Little and Katelyn Olsen.
Lincoln -- Jackson Linford.
Niobrara -- Lexie Dockery.
Park -- Lexee Craig.
Sheridan -- Tyra Relaford.
Sublette -- J D Fear.

Edna Mae & Wallace McClaflin ($1,000)
Lincoln -- Jaycee Hendrickson.

F.A.I.R. Posse ($500)
Natrona -- Hunter Romsa.

Farmhouse Foundation ($1,000)
Carbon -- Timothy Heward.

Janie Smith (Laramie County - $1,500)
Wyatt Norman.

J.M. Nichols ($300)
Campbell -- Sarah Gorman.

Johnson County 4-H Scholarship in honor of Bonnie Ellenwood ($750)
Kaytlin Hokanson.

Lael Harrison ($750)
Platte -- Samantha Kernan.

Murdoch's Ranch and Home Supply ($1,250)
Converse -- Dillon Farley.
Goshen -- Brittany Randall.
Natrona -- Wilson Stewart.
Sublette -- Dawson Hoover.

Peterson Scholarship (Crook County - $500):
Josey Bailey.

Underwood Scholarship ($750)
Johnson -- Benjamin Conklin.
Teton -- Brayden Castagno.

Wilbur Brettell (Laramie County - $500):
Andrew Graham.

Wyoming 4-H Foundation ($1,250)
Campbell -- Courtney Fuller.
Lincoln -- Madelon Jones.

Wyoming Veterinary Sciences ($250):
Albany -- Hanna Heggie.

Whitmire Leadership ($500):
Big Horn -- Nyckalas Harvey.
Lincoln -- Madelon Jones and Jaycee Hendrickson.
Niobrara -- Megan Proctor.
Platte -- Samantha  Kernan.
Sheridan -- Tyra Relaford.
Sublette -- Nathan Lee.

Contact Mack at (307) 766-2528 or for more information.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon