Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Summer High School Institute Begins June 5 at UW

June 1, 2016

An opportunity to achieve intellectual and personal growth for 48 talented juniors throughout the state will be presented in the 31st annual Summer High School Institute (HSI) June 5-25 at the University of Wyoming.

The students were selected from high schools across Wyoming. UW offers them an opportunity to achieve intellectual and personal growth, cultivate their leadership capabilities and measure their capacities and interests.

UW faculty members will conduct problem-centered classes ranging from philosophy to DNA to robotics and pharmacy.

Athletic activities, talent shows, picnics, community service, dances, guest speakers, attendance at local concerts and plays, visits to museums and enrichment excursions will complement the three-week experience.

High school administrators, counselors and teachers guided students through the application process. Selections were based on an application letter, an essay, two letters of recommendation, academic performance and extracurricular activity involvement.

Begun in 1985, the HSI is sponsored by UW with special funding from the Wyoming State Legislature.

Participants, listed by high school, are:

Buffalo High School -- Sarah Reed.

Big Horn High School -- Caroline Haile.

Big Piney High School -- Rachel Howard.

Campbell County High School -- Tori Wineteer.

Cheyenne Central High School -- Katelyn Williams.

Cody High School -- Kirsten Hull.

Douglas High School -- Megan Lovitt and Thien Pham.

Encampment High School -- Karah Pantle.

Evanston High School -- Jess Richins and Margaret Russell.

Gardner (Mont.) High School -- Christina Webster.

Glenrock High School -- Syler Fleck and Enoch Williams.

Green River High School -- Miles Moffat.

Hot Springs County High School -- Wyatt Wright.

Jackson Hole Community School -- Ellie Dunn.

Kelly Walsh High School -- Joseph Michael Gilbar and Abigail Schoup.

Kemmerer Junior/Senior High School -- Louis Failoni, Juanita Escareno and Brandon Crank.

Lander Valley High School -- Jaylnne Brough and Noah McKinney Gans.

Little Snake River Valley High School -- Kenneth Pitt.

Lovell High School -- William DeFuentes and Delanee Miller.

Mountain View High School -- Adalene Thomas.

Natrona County High School -- Allison Saul.

Niobrara County High School -- Elijah Carr.

Pinedale High School -- Brooke Hornberger.

Powell High School -- Harriet Pimentel and Rhett Pimentel.

Rawlins High School -- Jacob Arment and Kaitlin McDaniel.

Riverton High School -- Jaitlyn Pettit.

Rock Springs High School -- Colin Murcray, John Prevedel, Mikinzie Shelley and Trevor Sleight.

Saratoga High School -- Larissa Lynn Ford.

Sundance High School -- Dillon Brazil.

Sheridan High School -- Jillian Destefano and Garrett Perkins.

Star Lane Center -- Andrew Skovgard.

Upton High School -- Kasaundra Talbot.

Wheatland High School -- Rachel Battershell and Chase Nickle.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon