Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

New UW Awards to Recognize Individual Engagement, Outreach Efforts

March 19, 2018

The University of Wyoming has established new awards for faculty, staff, students and community partners who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to UW’s land-grant mission of engagement with and service to the people of Wyoming.

Starting today (Monday), nominations are being accepted for the Engaged Faculty Award, Engaged Staff Award, Student Engagement Award and Excellence in Community Partnership Award, which will be awarded for the first time at the end of the 2017-18 academic year. The deadline for nominations is April 9.

The Marvin Millgate Community Engagement Awards were established by President Laurie Nichols and Provost Kate Miller, in cooperation with UW’s Engagement Task Force, to recognize collaborative teaching and research that extend beyond the UW campus. The selected honorees each will receive $1,000, which may be used to fund additional engagement work by the recipients.

The 16-member Engagement Task Force (ETF) was appointed by Nichols to help UW meet its objective of collaborating with constituents and partners to improve and enhance the health and well-being of the state’s communities and environments, as outlined in UW’s strategic plan, “Breaking Through: 2017-2022.” The group’s specific charge is to make recommendations to UW’s leadership regarding the structure and function for a new Office of Engagement and Outreach, and to work to be recognized by the Carnegie Foundation as a “community engaged university.”

While the task force hasn’t completed its report to the president, the group intends to recommend annual engagement awards for faculty, staff and students -- and believes it’s important to begin with the current academic year, ETF Chair Jean Garrison says.

“These awards recognize the significant outreach and engagement work already being done by UW’s faculty, staff and students, and our commitment to the state as a whole,” Garrison says. “I’m pleased that we can launch these awards in anticipation of opening the new Office of Engagement and Outreach in the next academic year.”

The Engaged Faculty Award will be presented to a faculty member whose demonstrated scholarship significantly advances the sharing of knowledge between academic disciplines and the public.

The Engaged Staff Award will go to a full-time staff member who supports learning and development through community engagement and builds strong, reciprocal relationships between the campus and people outside the university.

The Student Engagement Award is for an outstanding UW student or recognized student organization engaged in service learning or other service opportunities that have made a tangible difference in the community.

The Excellence in Community Partnership Award recognizes community organizations that have rendered exceptional outreach or engagement in Wyoming through partnerships with the university.

To submit nominations for these awards, go to

The Carnegie Foundation describes community engagement as “the collaboration between institutions of higher education and their larger communities for the mutually beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources in a context of partnership and reciprocity.”

Anyone with questions may call Garrison at (307) 766-6119 or email

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon