Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Trustees Elect Dave True as Board President, Effective in May

March 22, 2018
head portrait of a man
Dave True will assume the office of president of the University of Wyoming Board of Trustees in May. (UW Photo)

Casper businessman Dave True was elected Wednesday as president of the University of Wyoming Board of Trustees, effective in May.

True, who served as the board’s vice president for the past two years, will take the gavel from John MacPherson, of Saratoga.

True first was appointed as a trustee by Gov. Matt Mead in 2013. In addition to serving as vice president for the board the past two years, he was the board’s treasurer in 2014-15.

Also Wednesday, Jeff Marsh, of Torrington, was elected vice president; Kermit Brown, of Laramie, was elected secretary; and John McKinley, of Cheyenne, was elected treasurer.

Appointed by the governor with consent of the Wyoming State Senate, the UW Board of Trustees consists of 12 members appointed to six-year, staggered terms. As the institution’s governing body, the trustees have a broad range of responsibilities, including major policy and budgetary matters affecting the university.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon