University of Wyoming
1000 E. University Ave. Dept. 3124
Laramie, WY 82071
The UWPD offers a variety of bicycle services including registration, theft recovery, as well as safety and regulation enforcement.
There are several reasons to register a bicycle including university regulations and city ordinances; however the most beneficial reason is theft recovery. When you register your bike, the information we gather is the information needed to report a theft. If a theft report is made, the information is then entered into a national database where pawn shops and other law enforcement agencies have access.
Bikes needing to be registered must be brought to the police department (1426 E Flint St). There is a one-time $5 fee* to register bikes. Our staff will gather information from you and from the bike. Once the appropriate information has been gathered, we will place a registration sticker on your bike and input the gathered information into our secure database.
*Currently the UWPD can only accept cash and checks.
In the event that your registered bike is stolen off campus, have the reporting agency call (307) 766-5788 to obtain the information needed to complete a police report.
If your bike (registered or not) is stolen from the University of Wyoming campus, please stop by our department (1426 E Flint St) to complete a police report or call our dispatch center at (307) 766-5179.
For students living in the residential halls bike lockers can be purchased through Vending Services. Throughout campus there are bike racks provided by all major buildings and parking lots. It is advisable that your secure your bike to the rack using a combination or key lock that is not shared with anyone.
Bicycles found not secured to designated bike racks may be either U-locked to that location or have the lock cut and the bike will be impounded by the UWPD and taken to our secure storage facility. During the end of the the school year our officers will also tag and impound all bikes left unattended. All unclaimed bikes will then be sold at our annual auction. All bikes that have been impounded require a $10 impound fee as well as mandatory bicycle registration (if the bike is not registered). For further information please call the UWPD dispatch center at (307) 766-5179.
The University of Wyoming Campus is a walking campus. Therefore major walking paths may be subject to dismount zones prohibiting bike riding. At these areas we ask that you please dismount your bike and walk it through the zone. For designated riding and dismount zones, as well as air pumps and bike racks, please see our updated campus bike path map.
On 05/15/2016 UWPD officers began tagging unregistered and abandoned bicycles on campus. Owners have 24hrs from the date and time on the notice to register the bicycle with the UWPD. For more information please see our bicycle registration page.
If your bicycle was impounded you may retrieve it anytime after 5/16/2016 at our department from 4:00pm to 4:30pm subject to officer availability. You will need to identify the bike for officers to release it to you. The cost will be $5 to retrieve it out of impound and $5 to register it. Currently the UWPD can only accept cash or check.