

Figure 2-1. Midsagittal representation (sheep) of the hypothalamic-pituitary axis. The mammalian brain is organized into subdivisions: telencephalon (cerebrum), diencephalon (thalamus, hypothalamus), mesencephalon (midbrain), and rhombencephalon (hindbrain - cerebellum, pons, medulla oblongata). The telencephalon and diencephalon constitute the forebrain. The brainstem is composed of the pons and medulla oblongata. The limbic system (hippocampus, amygdala) and reticular network interconnect the diencephalon with upper and lower regions of the brain, respectively; these coordinate structures are involved in the regulation of sexual behavior and in the perception of environmental cues affecting reproduction. T, thalamus. OC, optic chiasm. P, pituitary. MB, mammillary body.