UW Nursing Graduates Honored

May 23, 2012

The University of Wyoming Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing recognized the school's top graduating students during its recent convocation.

This spring, UW awarded 176 Bachelor of Science in Nursing degrees. These included 47 from the traditional on-campus program; 30 from the accelerated second-degree BRAND program; and 99 from the online RN/BSN Completion Program.

Additionally, UW awarded 31 Master of Science in Nursing degrees, including 12 online nurse educators; nine family nurse practitioners; nine psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners; and one in early childhood development.

Special awards were presented to the following graduating students, listed by hometown:

Billings, Mont. -- Laci Little, Passion for Nursing Award for devotion, allegiance and commitment to the profession of nursing.

Cheyenne -- Mary Madsen, Make a Difference in Wyoming's Health Award for demonstrated commitment to continued education and excellence in nursing practice.

Fort Collins, Colo. -- Rebecca May, Gertrude Gould Memorial Award for excellence in public health nursing practice; and Janet Warner, Susan McCabe Psychiatric/Mental Health Graduate Award for academic excellence, passion for knowledge and superior clinical practice; Jenna Woodard, School of Nursing Spirit Award for student with exceptional spirit and enthusiasm.

Gillette -- Patricia David, Carol Macnee Scholarship Award for excellence in scholarship and/or research (given to a student from a nursing graduate program).

Hendersonville, Tenn. -- Trisha Chambon, Professional Nurse Award for practice, community service and professional service.

Laramie -- Barbara Cook, Beverly McDermott Award for leadership and political activism; Kylie Stern, Amelia Leino Memorial Award for top student in family nursing.

Northglenn, Colo. -- Loryn Kempton, Beverly McDermott Award for leadership and political activism.

Pendleton, Ore. -- Katrina Dielman, Courage to Teach Award for the personification of a critically reflective attitude about learning and teaching.

Rapid City, S.D. -- Lauren Armstrong, Rudolph "Rudy" and Louise Anselmi and Jeri Kirk Family Trust Nursing Scholarship, for leadership and responsibility.

Rawlins -- Jeffrey Rutz, Dorothy Tupper Memorial Award for caring, compassion and interpersonal communications.

Saratoga -- Colby Butler, Alpha Pi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau Award for exemplary rural practice in nursing.

Uganda ­-- Annita Uwamahoro, Amelia Leino Memorial Award for top students in family nursing.

Wellington, Colo. -- Erin Butcher, Lina Kennedy White Memorial Award for interest in and aptitude for geriatric nursing.

Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)