Contact Us

Institutional Communications
Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: (307) 766-2929

Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

UW Summer High School Institute Names Participants

An opportunity to achieve intellectual and personal growth for 90 talented rising juniors throughout the state will be presented in the 33rd annual Summer High School Institute (HSI) June 10-30 at the University of Wyoming.

The students were selected from high schools across Wyoming. UW offers them an opportunity to achieve intellectual and personal growth, cultivate their leadership capabilities and measure their capacities and interests.

UW faculty members will conduct problem-centered classes ranging from philosophy to DNA to robotics and agriculture.

The three-week experience also will include athletic activities, talent shows, picnics, dances, an HSI 5K Color Run, random acts of kindness, guest speakers, attendance at local concerts and plays, visits to museums and enrichment excursions.

High school administrators, counselors and teachers guided students through the application process. Selections were based on an application letter, an essay, two letters of recommendation, academic performance and extracurricular activity involvement.

Begun in 1985, the HSI program is sponsored by UW, with special funding from the Wyoming State Legislature.

Participants, listed by their high schools, are:

Big Horn High School -- Rowan Kelly.

Big Piney High School -- Cade Anderson and Rachel Foster.

Buffalo High School -- Levi Seidel.

Campbell County High School -- Charles Princen and Christian Skiles.

Central High School (Cheyenne) -- Kyla Bush and Sinead Knepper.

Cody High School -- Meg Burkhart.

Douglas High School -- Shayla Moore, Joslynn Sauer and Britten Young.

East High School (Cheyenne) -- Fox Nelson, Logan Otto, Ramzee Parten, Haley Purifoy, Katy Smith, Madison Terry and Cora Warren.

Evanston High School -- Maya Angwin, Kai Haukaas and Hannah Linford.

Glenrock High School -- Andrew Albrandt, Kolbe Bloem and Brennah Mayland.

Green River High School -- Dallin Kurth and Kennan Wilson.

Greybull High School -- Rosa Aguilar, Thomas Gross, Isabel Irvine and Angelica Rasmussen.

Hot Springs County High School -- Akeyla Franklin and Olivia Weyer.

Kelly Walsh High School (Casper) -- Darrah Short and Ethan Spicher.

Kemmerer High School -- Shawn Crank and Teryn Thatcher.

Lander Valley High School -- Liza Borisova and Jordan Troxel.

Laramie High School -- Maggie Branch, Delio Carducci, Michael Kruszynski, Brook Malone, Kendra Nottage, Ano Nyamadzavo, Thayne Thatcher, Sarah Wallace and George Yost.

Little Snake River Valley High School (Baggs) -- Dane Kudera.

Lovell High School -- Elena Garcia and Miranda Wambeke.

Natrona County High School -- Maddie Oden, Teryn Ramsey, Mariah Warner and Connor Worthen.

Niobrara County High School -- Tyler Basile and Ben Eiden.

Pathfinder High School (Lander) -- Jessica Dudley.

Pinedale High School -- Mia Liu, Dana Ramberg and Jorja Warembourg.

Powell High School -- Grant Dillivan, Josephine Mickelson and Devin Ott.

Rawlins High School -- Breeallyn Castillo, Laura Friend, Jenjilla Larsen, Ali Trevizio and Keneday Vandiver.

Riverside High School (Basin) -- Chloe Colling.

Rock Springs High School -- Bradyn Conover, Gabe Copeland, Hanna Crockett, Elizabeth Croft and Celeste Keelin.

Sheridan High School -- Maggie Kuehl and Hannah Schoup.

Thunder Basin High School (Gillette) -- Mackenzie Long.

Tongue River High School (Dayton) -- Linsey Tritschler.

Torrington High School -- Whitney Zigweid.

Upton High School -- Avery Alishouse.

Wheatland High School -- Raegan Harnish.

Wind River High School (Pavillion) -- Alison Sweeney, Gaby Wall and Abigail White.

Worland High School -- Talon Andersen, Jonathan Anderson, Eden Ferrett, Caleb Fraser, and Elizabeth McIntosh.



Contact Us

Institutional Communications
Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: (307) 766-2929

Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)