Contact Us

Institutional Communications
Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: (307) 766-2929

Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)


A total of 41 University of Wyoming undergraduate and 31 graduate students were recently inducted as UW’s founding members of a national honor society for high-achieving, first-generation college students.

This spring, UW’s Learning Resource Network (LeaRN) program launched the Gamma Epsilon chapter of Alpha Alpha Alpha (Tri-Alpha) for eligible UW students. Undergraduates needed to earn at least 30 credit hours and have a cumulative grade-point average (GPA) of 3.2 or above. Criteria for graduate students was at least nine credit hours and a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher.

LeaRN works with UW students and faculty to promote academic success, engagement and enrichment of the college experience.

Officers for UW’s latest honor society are Jordan Carlson, president, from Casper; Rachel Tracy, vice president, of Lafayette, Colo.; Hannah Brown, secretary, from Cheyenne; and Renae Hageman, treasurer/historian, of Goodland, Kan.

“All of the students involved -- the inductees and the student officers alike -- should be proud of what they accomplished,” says Seth Swanner, an assistant LeaRN lecturer and faculty adviser for the chapter. “To see so many first-generation college students not only succeeding here at UW, but also helping to establish a new community of support was truly inspiring.”

Tri-Alpha was established in 2018 at Moravian University, a private college in Bethlehem, Pa. Since its founding, the national honor society has expanded to more than 130 chapters in 35 states.

“We are excited to see how UW’s chapter grows over the coming years,” says Makayla Stewart, a LeaRN program manager and staff adviser for Tri-Alpha. “The new chapter provides another layer of support for UW’s first-generation students.”

Undergraduate students inducted, listed by hometown, are:

Aurora, Colo. -- Madison Bearden.

Big Horn -- Sydney Schmidt.

Carbondale, Colo. -- Ashlyn Dunn.

Centennial, Colo. -- Kayla Huskey.

Casper -- Taylor Bundy, Jordan Carlson, Rhiannon McLean, Darrah Short, Sierra White and Mckenzie Wood.

Cheyenne -- Hannah Brown, Madison Davis, Michael Lindman and Tyler Trissel.

Dacono, Colo. -- Lilliana Nieves-Martin.

Douglas -- Maggie Connolly and Taylor Rodeman.

Gillette -- Joy Nguyen.

Goodland, Kan. -- Renae Hageman.

Green River -- Kasidee Brewer.

Jackson -- Samantha Smith.

Lafayette, Colo. -- Rachel Tracy.

Laramie -- Rebecca Davies and Frank Rugh.

Littleton, Colo. -- Bailey Shafar.

Longmont, Colo. -- Emma Hall.

Mitchell, Neb. -- Natalie Simpson.

Okotoks, Alberta, Canada -- Marshall Heggenstaller.

Pownal, Maine -- Lindy Hooper.

Rawlins -- Amber Yardley.

Riverton -- Miracle Gardner, Tonya Martin and Emily Roseno.

Rozet -- Dakota Jones.

Scottsbluff, Neb. -- McKenna Hackett.

Sheridan -- Makayla Hallam.

St. Leonard, Md. -- Amanda Lynch.

St. Louis, Mo. -- Gracen Wallen.

Sterling, Colo. -- Morgan Seelye and Ciara Thompson.

Wheatland -- Jodie Stevenson.

Graduate students inducted, listed by hometown, are:

Apex, N.C. -- Jessica Toms.

Aurora, Colo. -- Rachel Eberstein.

Boulder, Colo. -- Madison Worthy.

Casper -- Ashley Garhart, Audrey Ortberg and Brittany Pivik.

Cheyenne -- Marti Young.

Evansville -- Jason Lovell.

Colorado Springs, Colo. -- Mark Cervantes.

Etna -- Ryan Phillips.

Fort Leavenworth, Kan. -- Craig Calkins.

Fort Washakie -- Kailyn Washakie.

Gillette -- Celeste Hayden.

Huron, S.D. -- Ashley Armstrong.

Laramie -- Michelle Blakely, Tanya Brown, Ami Cass, Emma Connell, Alison Grendahl, Janissa Martinez, Michael McDaniel, Domingo Santhanawit, Kryssi Soule and Carly Stumpner.

Moorcroft -- Sarah Lewis.

Obuasi, Ghana -- Martin Akandawen.

Pine Bluffs -- Logan Armstrong.

Riverton -- Jennifer Metcalf.

Tacoma, Wash. -- Carly Pearson.

Yonkers, N.Y. -- Rehva Jones.



Contact Us

Institutional Communications
Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: (307) 766-2929

Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)