Presidential Scholarly Achievement Awards Recognize Outstanding UW Faculty

University of Wyoming President Ed Seidel has recognized faculty members who demonstrate high achievement in scholarship with 2023 Presidential Scholarly Achievement Awards.

Started by Seidel in 2022, the awards include two tracks: one for tenured faculty and one for early-career faculty. Each track includes a monetary award and recognition at the President’s Commencement Dinner Thursday, May 11.

“Through the Presidential Scholarly Achievement Awards, I am honored to recognize this year’s exceptional group of faculty,” Seidel says. “All excel in scholarship, which is key to a thriving university and the achievement of objective 2 of our strategic plan -- ‘Pursue Institutional Excellence.’”

The Presidential Scholarly Achievement Awards for tenured faculty at associate or full professor ranks who have demonstrated significant achievement focus on different colleges or disciplines each year. This year, the focus is on the colleges of Health Sciences and Agriculture, Life Sciences and Natural Resources. The winners of the honors, which include a cash award of $2,500 each, are:

-- Jared Bushman, associate professor of pharmaceutical science.

-- Michael Dillon, professor of zoology and physiology.

-- James Pru, professor of animal science.

-- Jenifer Thomas, associate professor of nursing.

Recipients of Presidential Scholarly Achievement Awards for early-career faculty, which include an award of $5,000 toward scholarship activities, are:

-- Thomas Boothby, assistant professor of molecular biology in the College of Agriculture, Life Sciences and Natural Resources.

-- Joe Holbrook, assistant professor of carnivore and habitat ecology in the Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources.

-- Sandra Leotti, assistant professor of social work in the College of Health Sciences.

-- Paul Maddox, assistant professor in the College of Education (UW-Casper awardee).

-- Christina McDonnell, assistant professor of clinical psychology in the College of Arts and Sciences.

-- Stephen Newbold, associate professor of economics in the College of Business.

-- Todd Reynolds, assistant professor of secondary education in the College of Education.

-- Ryan Webb, assistant professor of civil engineering in the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications
Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: (307) 766-2929

Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)