Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Names Top First-Year Course Instructors

April 6, 2020

Thirty-five University of Wyoming instructors who inspire excitement, inquiry and autonomy in first-year courses are Promoting Intellectual Engagement (PIE) Award recipients.

A reception to honor the award recipients is tentatively planned to take place in September.

PIE Award recipients were nominated online by first- and second-year students, and then selected by a committee based on the number of nominations and students’ comments. The committee reviewed more than 200 nominations.

The PIE Award is sponsored by several programs within the Office of Academic Affairs and the Division of Student Affairs: Advising, Career and Exploratory Studies, the Ellbogen Center for Teaching and Learning, the LeaRN Program, and Residence Life and Dining Services.

PIE Award recipients, listed by their offices, departments, schools or colleges, are:

-- Anne Alexander, Office of Academic Affairs.

-- David Anton, Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

-- Brian Barber, Life Sciences Program.

-- Diana Baumbach, Department of Visual and Literary Arts.

-- Michele Bird, Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

-- Alyssa Canepa, Department of English.

-- Joshua Clapp, Department of Psychology.

-- Douglas Craig, Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

-- Kent Drummond, Department of English.

-- David Estes, Department of Psychology.

-- David Finnoff, Department of Economics.

-- Scott Freng, Department of Psychology.

-- Fred Furtado, Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

-- Lucus Hansen, LeaRN Program.

-- Lori Howe, Honors College.

-- Shelby Hutson, LeaRN Program.

-- Randa Jabbour, Department of Plant Sciences.

-- Blake Johnson, Transfer Relations.

-- Alyssa Konesko, LeaRN Program.

-- Alison Looby, Department of Psychology.

-- Mariana Marvel, Department of English.

-- Jeffrey Means, Department of History and American Studies.

-- Noah Miles, Department of Modern and Classical Languages.

-- Matthew Painter, Department of Criminal Justice and Sociology.

-- Mark Person, Department of Modern and Classical Languages.

-- Tiger Robison, Department of Music.

-- Joseph Russo, College of Education.

-- Joseph Schroer, School of Teacher Education.

-- Edward Sherline, Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies.

-- Kenneth Sims, Department of Geology and Geophysics.

-- Justin Stewart, Department of Communication and Journalism.

-- Margaret Stewart, Department of Communication and Journalism.

-- Zachary Taylor, School of Politics, Public Affairs and International Studies.

-- John Willford, WWAMI Medical Education Program.

-- Man-Chung Yeung, Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon