Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW College of Health Sciences Honors 2021 Outstanding Faculty and Staff

May 10, 2021

The University of Wyoming College of Health Sciences honored members of its faculty and staff for outstanding contributions to service and education during a virtual reception April 29.

The College of Health Sciences Faculty Development Committee, composed of faculty members from throughout the college, chose faculty and staff members for the awards based on outstanding contributions to teaching, research and administrative support, including letters of recommendations from peers and students. The awards recognize excellence in faculty development and innovative ways to help students.

A new award category added this year is the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award. This award recognizes faculty members whose work aligns with one of the four pillars set forth by UW President Ed Seidel to help UW be a welcoming place to students from all backgrounds, races and ethnicities.

Jayne Jenkins -- who is retiring after a half-century of teaching, including 21 years as a professor of physical/teacher education in the Division of Kinesiology and Health -- was honored with the Outstanding Career Achievement Award. 

“A 50-year career in education and academia is filled with ups and downs, highs and lows, joys and sadness,” Jenkins says. “It seems that, from the back end of that half-century career, I mostly remember the ups, highs and joys. I appreciate receiving this Career Achievement Award precisely because it was bestowed by people I love and respect.”

Other honorees are:

-- New Investigator Award: Danielle Bruns, assistant professor, Division of Kinesiology and Health.

-- Outstanding Staff Award (0-5 years): Dawn Carver, credentials analyst, Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing.

-- Outstanding Contributions to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award: Michelle Jarman, associate professor, Wyoming Institute for Disabilities.

-- Outstanding Researcher Award: Mary Hardin-Jones, professor, Division of Communication Disorders.

-- Faculty Mentorship Award: Neely Mahapatra, associate professor, Division of Social Work.

-- Innovation in Teaching Award: Erin Page, assistant clinical professor, Division of Communication Disorders.

-- Outstanding Staff Award (over 5 years): Alisa Siceloff, accountant and assistant lecturer, Division of Kinesiology and Health.

-- Outstanding Teacher Award: Candy Stidolph, associate lecturer, Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing.

-- Meritorious Service Award: Tristan Wallhead, professor, Division of Kinesiology and Health.

At the close of the awards reception, special recognition was given to David Jones, dean of the College of Health Sciences, and Kem Krueger, dean of the School of Pharmacy, for their outstanding contributions in helping with UW’s COVID-19 vaccination efforts.

Derek Smith, director of the Division of Kinesiology and Health, said the work of Jones and Krueger brought together a community response to the pandemic with support from students, Albany County, the state of Wyoming and the nation.

“Through such a challenging year, the College of Health Sciences award celebration is a fantastic way to learn about the perseverance, dedication and creativity of our amazing faculty and staff, whose efforts impact the college, the university and Wyoming communities,” says Jeremy Vandiver, a clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice and chair of the Faculty Development Committee.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon