Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW School of Pharmacy Establishes Continuing Education Advisory Board

November 4, 2021

The University of Wyoming School of Pharmacy has established an advisory board for its continuing education program. 

In addition to overseeing multitiered programs within the school’s main continuing education program, the advisory board will advance the school’s mission to develop, conduct and evaluate educational programs to meet the continuing professional development needs, tools and resources for pharmacy professionals and pharmacy technicians to better care for the patients and communities they serve.

“The School of Pharmacy is thankful to the members of the inaugural Continuing Professional Education Pharmacy Advisory Board, who are providing their time and expertise to help guide us in providing meaningful continuing educational programs for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians throughout the region,” says Kem Krueger, dean of the UW School of Pharmacy.

Jen Paintin, program coordinator with the school’s Master of Science in Health Services Administration degree program, says one of the advisory board’s goals is to continue to advance the school’s continuing education initiative to provide required service hours to pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and other pharmacy professionals.

“We will look to the Continuing Professional Education Pharmacy Advisory Board to ensure that we offer programs across the breadth of practice in the state,” Paintin says. “Board members’ insights will guide us to not only meet the needs of our learners, but also assist with the communications they have with patients across the state.”

“We are excited at the opportunity to work with the inaugural advisory board,” says Elliott Sogol, director of postgraduate and continuing education. “Wyoming State Board of Pharmacy regulations state that all pharmacists must complete and report 12 contact hours of approved continuing education obtained during the previous license period in order to renew their licenses to practice pharmacy, and we look forward to providing opportunities to pharmacists and pharmacy technicians to meet these educational needs.”

The inaugural members of the Continuing Professional Education Pharmacy Advisory Board, listed by hometown, are:

Cheyenne -- Melinda Carroll, pharmacy manager of King Soopers Pharmacy; Matthew Martineau, executive director, Wyoming State Board of Pharmacy; and Leena Myran, a clinical associate professor of the UW Family Medicine Residency Program and the UW School of Pharmacy.

Greybull -- Jessica Hunt, medical science liaison at Fresenius Kabi.

Wheatland -- Jennifer Nevins, Platte County Memorial Hospital, retired.

For more information on the UW School of Pharmacy’s continuing professional education program, visit

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon