Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming

Global Resource Navigation

Give to UW
Download UW Viewbook
Visit Campus
Profiles Home Page

University Public Relations
1000 E University Ave
Dept. 3226, Bureau of Mines
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: (307) 766-2379
Fax: (307) 766-6729

UW Profiles

Aven Nelson, UW Professor & President 

Aven Nelson is one of the original founding faculty members of the University of Wyoming. Nelson came to UW in its founding year, 1887, and served UW for 55 years, when he retired in 1942. Nelson served UW gloriously as the first professor of Botany and as UW’s 10th President.

A devoted and exciting teacher, Nelson shared his expertise with UW students, as well as the Wyoming public. As secretary of the State Board of Horticulture, Nelson wrote numerous publications geared toward the lay population. In 1893, he co-founded the Rocky Mountain Herbarium—today one of the finest in the United States—and the Colorado-Wyoming Academy of Science. Nelson served as president of the American Society of Plant Taxonomists, Phi Kappa Phi, and the Botanical Society of America. Nelson’s achievements led to his receiving an honorary doctoral degree from the University of Colorado and an honorary doctor of laws degree from UW.

The Aven Nelson Memorial Building is named in his honor.


Content courtesy of the College of Arts and Sciences. Image courtesy of the UW American Heritage Center.

Aven Nelson

Aven Nelson served as the fist professor of Botany and the 10th President. His achievements and hard work still impact UW today.

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Vimeo Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainfull Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon