Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Wyoming History Day April 15 at UW

April 11, 2019

Nearly 250 students from 25 schools will compete at the 39th annual Wyoming History Day Contest beginning at 8:30 a.m. Monday, April 15, at the University of Wyoming.

Winners will represent Wyoming at the National History Day Contest June 9-13 at the University of Maryland in College Park, Md.

The 167 entries in this year’s state History Day Contest will be evaluated by more than 60 volunteer judges who will assess the entries based on the historical quality; the degree to which the entry relates to this year’s theme, “Triumph and Tragedy in History”; and the clarity of the presentation.

Judges are composed of UW faculty, staff and graduate students; history educators from across the state, historians; staff from the Wyoming State Archives and Wyoming State Museum; and staff and faculty of the UW American Heritage Center (AHC).

Students qualified for the state contest by placing first, second or third in their respective categories in either the Junior or Senior Division at one of seven regional contests held last month around Wyoming. More than 700 students statewide participated in Wyoming History Day this year by developing projects in one of five categories including historical papers, documentaries, websites, original performances or exhibits.

In addition to having an opportunity to compete at the national finals, the students at the state contest will vie for numerous special awards and scholarships that are sponsored by various UW departments, organizations and associations throughout Wyoming, and state businesses.

Schools represented at the 2019 Wyoming History Day state contest are:

Big Horn -- Big Horn Middle School.

Buffalo -- Clear Creek Middle School.

Casper -- Kelly Walsh High School and Poison Spider Elementary School.

Cody -- Cody Middle School and Cody High School.

Greybull -- Greybull Middle School and Greybull High School.

Jackson -- Jackson Hole Middle School, Jackson Hole High School and Jackson Hole Community School.

Lander -- Lander Middle School and Lander Valley High School.

Laramie -- Laramie Home Schools.

Meeteetse -- Meeteetse K-12 School.

Pinedale -- Pinedale Middle School and Pinedale High School.

Powell -- Powell Middle School.

Ranchester -- Tongue River Middle School.

Sheridan -- Holy Name Catholic School.

Shoshoni -- Shoshoni K-12 School.

Torrington -- Torrington Middle School.

Upton -- Upton Middle School.

Wheatland -- Wheatland Middle School and Wheatland High School.

For more information about Wyoming History Day, call State Coordinator Jessica Flock at the UW AHC at (307) 766-2300 or email

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon