Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Trustees Elect McKinley as Board Chairman

March 28, 2022
head photo of a man
John McKinley will assume the office of chairman of the UW Board of Trustees May 1. (UW Photo)

Cheyenne attorney John McKinley was elected Friday as chairman of the University of Wyoming Board of Trustees, effective May 1.

McKinley, who served as the board’s vice chairman for the past two years, will take the gavel from Jeff Marsh, of Torrington.

McKinley first was appointed as a trustee by Gov. Matt Mead in 2015 and reappointed by Gov. Mark Gordon in 2021.

Also Friday, Kermit Brown, of Laramie, was elected vice chairman; Michelle Sullivan, of Sheridan, was elected treasurer; and Laura Schmid-Pizzato, of Rock Springs, was elected secretary.

Appointed by the governor with consent of the Wyoming State Senate, the UW Board of Trustees consists of 12 members appointed to six-year, staggered terms. As the institution’s governing body, the trustees have a broad range of responsibilities, including major policy, governance and budgetary matters affecting the university.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon