Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Experts List

Experts List

Following are University of Wyoming faculty members, listed by areas of expertise, who are willing to speak with media representatives and others about topics in their areas of study. If you would like to be included on the UW Experts List, please contact Ron Podell, Communications Specialist, at (307) 766-2353 or rpodell@uwyo.edu.

3-D Computer Environments

Emma-Jane Alexander
Shell 3-D Visualization Manager, School of Energy Resources
(307) 766-6811 or emmajane.alxander@uwyo.edu
Specialty: 3-D Visualization

Amy Banic
Assistant Professor, Computer Science
(307) 766-5485 or abanic@uwyo.edu
Specialty: 3-D Computer Environments

Accounting

Eric N. Johnson
Clara R. Toppan Professor of Accounting
(307) 766-3959 or eric.johnson@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Fraud and Forensic Investigations/Corporate Governance and Ethics

Agriculture

Steve Miller
Editor, UW Extension/Communications and Technology
(307) 766-6342 or smiller@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Agriculture

Air Quality

Robert Field
(307) 766-2180 or rfield1@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Winter Ozone/Air Quality

Shane Murphy
Associate Professor, Atmospheric Science
(307) 766-6408 or smurph19@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Winter Ozone Levels/Air Quality/Black Carbons/Aerosols

Animal Ecology

Jacob Goheen
Assistant Professor, Zoology and Physiology
(307) 766-4207 or jgoheen@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Animal Ecology

Animal Science

Stephen Ford
Rochelle Endowed Chair, Department of Animal Science
Director, Center for the Study of Fetal Programming
(307) 766-2709 or spford@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Animal Science/Developmental programming in humans and animals/Reproductive Biology/Endocrinology/Impact of maternal undernutrition and overnutrition in ruminants on offspring health and growth efficiency/Swine reproductive management and litter size

Archaeology

Marcel Kornfeld
Professor, Anthropology
(307) 766-3548 or anpro1@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Archaeology/Paleoindian Culture

Astronomy

Chip Kobulnicky
Professor, Physics and Astronomy
(307) 766-2982 or chipk@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Physics/Astronomy/Active Learning Classrooms

Big Game Migrations

Matt Kauffman
Director, Wyoming Migration Initiative
(307) 766-6404 or mkauffm1@uwyo.edu
Big game migrations/Predation – wolves and bears/Energy and wildlife – elk, moose, deer, pronghorn, sheep and mountain goats

Birds in Panama Ecosystems

Corey Tarwater
Assistant Professor of Zoology and Physiology
corey.tarwater@uwyo.edu

Carbon Management

Kipp Coddington
Director, Carbon Management Institute
(307) 766-6731 or kcodding@uwyo.edu
Law, policy and regulation – Energy/Environment/Climate Change/Carbon Management/Carbon Capture and Storage/Carbon Capture Utilization and Storage/Carbon Dioxide Utilization

Cell Biology

David Fay
Professor, Molecular Biology
(307) 766-4961 or davidfay@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Cell Biology/Genetics/Molecular Biology

Jay Gatlin
Assistant Professor, Molecular Biology
(307) 766-3498 or jgatlin@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Mitotic Spindle Assembly/Cell Biology/Quantitative Light Microscopy

Classics

Laura De Lozier
Assistant Chair, Modern and Classical Languages
Classics Section Coordinator
(307) 766-4144 or delozier@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Classics/Latin/Cinematic Reception of Greece and Rome

Clean-coal Technologies

Mark Northam
Director, School of Energy Resources
(307) 766-6858 or mnortham@uwyo.edu

Climate Change

Michael Dillon
Associate Professor, Zoology and Physiology
(307) 314-0883 or mdillon3@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Zoology/Alpine bumblebees/Climate Change/Physiology/Ecology/Insect flight biomechanics/Respiration

Zhien Wang
Professor and Templeton Faculty Fellow, Atmospheric Science
(307) 766-5356 or zwang@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Clouds/Climate Change/LIDAR/Remote Sensing

Jacqueline Shinker
Associate Professor, Geography
(307) 223-5437 or jshinker@uwyo.edu
Climate Change/Climate Science/Drought

Climate Science

Xiahong Liu
Professor, Atmospheric Science; Wyoming Excellence Chair in Climate Science
(307) 766-3255 or xliu6@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Climate Science/Aerosol and Cloud Computer Modeling and Model Development

Cold Region Hydrology

Noriaki Ohara
Assistant Professor, Civil & Architectural Engineering
(307) 766-4366 or nohara1@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Cold Region Hydrology/Snowpack Evolution

Communications and Journalism

Leah LeFebvre
Assistant Professor, Department of Communication and Journalism
(307) 766-3122 or leah.lefebvre@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Communication/Interpersonal Relationships/Social Networking Sites

Kristen D. Landreville
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Communication and Journalism
(307) 314-9090 or klandrev@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Political Communication/Multimedia/Journalism

Computational Fluid Dynamics

Stefan Heinz
Professor, Mathematics
(307) 766-4203 or Heinz@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Stochastic Analysis/Turbulence Modeling/Computational Fluid Dynamics

Dimitri Mavriplis
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
(307) 766-2868 or mavripl@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Computational Fluid Dynamics (aerodynamics of commercial aircraft/business jets)

Computational Science

Alex Buerkle
Associate Professor, Botany
(307) 766-3845 or Buerkle@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Evolutionary Biology/Genetics/Computational Science/Data Science

Po Chen
Associate Professor, Geology and Geophysics
(307) 766-3086 or pchen@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Geophysics/Geology/Computational Science

Dane Skow
Director, Advanced Research Computing Center (ARCC); Director, IT/Research Services; Adjunct Professor, Computer Science
(307) 766-4864 or dskow@uwyo.edu
Specialties: Computational Science, High Performance Computing, Parallel/Distributed Computing, Computer Science (particularly Computer Security, Operations and Systems Design) and High Energy Physics (a.k.a. Particle Physics)

Constitutional Law

Stephen M. Feldman
Distinguished Professor of Law
(307) 766-4250 or sfeldman@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Constitutional Law

Criminal Justice

John Boman
Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice
(307) 766-2992 or jboman@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Criminal Justice/Crime Trends/Friends and their impact on crime/Offending in groups (e.g., group of friends)/Drugs and substance abuse/Crime over the life course, aging and crime

Dinosaurs

Mark Clementz
Associate Professor, Geography and Geology
(307) 766-6048 or mclemen1@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Dinosaurs/Prehistoric Mammals

Drugs and Substance Abuse

John Boman
Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice
(307) 766-2992 or jboman@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Criminal Justice/Crime Trends/Friends and their impact on crime/Offending in groups (e.g., group of friends)/Drugs and substance abuse/Crime over the life course, aging and crime

Economics

Anne Alexander
Associate VP, Academic Affairs
(307) 766-4286 or aalex@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Economics

Economic Development

Rob Godby
Associate Professor and Department Chair, Economics and Finance/Runs the Center for Energy Economics and Public Policy (CEEPP)
(307) 766-3843 or rgodby@uwyo.edu

Environmental Economics

Jay Shogren
Professor, Economics and Finance
(307) 766-5430 or jramses@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Economics/Environmental and Natural Resource Policy

Ed Barbier
Professor, Economics and Finance
(307) 766-2358 or ebarbier@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Environmental Economic

Environmental Engineering

Michael Urynowicz
Director, Center for Biogenic Natural Gas Research
Professor, Environmental Engineering
(307) 766-4398 or MUrynowi@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Environmental Remediation/Biogenic Natural Gas

European Politics

Stephanie Anderson
Associate Professor of Political Science
(307) 766-4286 or redhead@uwyo.edu
Specialty: European Politics

Evolutionary Biology

Alex Buerkle
Associate Professor, Botany
(307) 766-3845 or Buerkle@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Evolutionary Biology/Genetics/Computational Science/Data Science

Exoplanets

Hannah Jang-Condell
Assistant Professor, Physics and Astronomy
(307) 766-3680 or hjangcon@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Exoplanets

Geology

Po Chen
Associate Professor, Geology and Geophysics
(307) 766-3086 or pchen@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Geophysics/Geology/Computational Science

Brandon McElroy
Assistant Professor, Geology and Geophysics
(307) 766-3601 or bmcelroy@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Rivers and Deltas/Geomorphology/Sedimentology

Cliff Riebe
Assistant Professor, Geology and Geophysics
(307) 766-3965 or criebe@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Geology/Geophysics/Geomorphology/Salmon Spawning

Geophysics and Seismology

Steve Holbrook
Professor, Geology and Geophysics
(307) 766-2427 or steveh@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Geophysics and Seismology

Glacier Hydrology

Neil Humphrey
Professor, Geology and Geophysics
(307) 766-2728 or neil@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Glacier Hydrology/Icesheet Dynamics/Geomorphology and Landscape Evolution/Numerical simulation of the Cryosphere

Glaciology

Sarah Conrad
EPSCoR Deputy Director
(307) 766-2295 or skonrad@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Glaciology

Groundwater Hydrology

Ye Zhang
Associate Professor, Geology and Geophysics
(307) 766-2981 or yzhang9@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Groundwater hydrology/Subsurface characterization and reservoir modeling/Geological carbon sequestration

Habitat Ecology

Anna Chalfoun
Assistant Professor, Zoology and Physiology
(307) 766-6966 or achalfou@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Habitat Ecology/Wildlife Ecology

History of Wyoming and the American West

Phil Roberts
Professor of History
(307) 766-5311 or philr@uwyo.edu
Specialty: History of Wyoming and the American West/American Legal History/Wyoming Legal History/History of Oil

Hydrology

Fred Ogden
Professor, Civil & Architectural Engineering
(307) 766-6171 or fogden@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Hydrology/Watersheds (Colorado River Basin/Panama Canal Watershed)

Immigration Law

Suzan Pritchett
Assistant Professor, College of Law
Director, International Human Rights Clinic
(307) 766-3556 or spritch1@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Immigration Law

Immigration and Tourism

Mary Katherine Scott
Visiting Assistant Professor, Art History
(307) 766-3678 or mkscott@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Immigration/Tourism Studies/Mexico (art, culture and people from ancient to modern times)

Instructional Technology and Makerspaces

Tonia A. Dousay
Assistant Professor, Instructional Technology
(307) 766-3608 or tdousay@uwyo.edu
Makerspaces in Communities and Schools/Distance Learning/Comics and Gaming in Education

Labor Law

Michael C. Duff
Centennial Distinguished Professor of Law
(307) 766-5319 or mduff1@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Labor Law/Workers’ Compensation Law/Administrative Law/Personal Injury Law

Land Reclamation

Peter D. Stahl
Director, Wyoming Reclamation and Restoration Center
Professor of Soil Ecology, Department of Ecosystem Science and Management
(307) 766-2179 or uncleM@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Land Reclamation/Ecosystem Restoration and Soil Science

Marketing

Elizabeth Minton
Assistant Professor of Marketing
(307) 766-3616 or eminton@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Marketing/Consumer Behavior/Religion’s Influence on Consumption

Microfluidic Processes

John Oakey
Assistant Professor, Chemical and Petroleum Engineering
(307) 766-2518 or joakey@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Microfluidic processes and applications/tissue engineering and regenerative medicine

Molecular Biology

David Fay
Professor, Molecular Biology
(307) 766-4961 or davidfay@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Cell Biology/Genetics/Molecular Biology

Natural Resource Economics

Charles “Chuck” Mason
H.A. Dave True Jr. Chair in Petroleum and Natural Gas Economics
(307) 766-5336 or bambuzlr@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Oil and Gas/Topics related to natural resource economics

Natural Resource Law

Tara Righetti
SER Assistant Professor of Law
Department of Law and School of Energy Resources
(307) 766-2087 or trighett@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Oil and Gas Law/Public Lands Law/Subsurface Property Law (Pore Space)

Ocean Seafloor

Michael Cheadle
Associate Professor, Geology and Geophysics
(307) 766-3206 or Cheadle@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Ocean seafloor crust

Oil and Gas

Charles “Chuck” Mason
H.A. Dave True Jr. Chair in Petroleum and Natural Gas Economics
(307) 766-5336 or bambuzlr@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Oil and Gas/Topics related to natural resource economics

Mohammad Piri
Professor, Chemical and Petroleum Engineering/Excellence Chair in HE Petroleum
(307) 766-3954 or mpiri@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Porous Media/Oil and Gas

Paleoindian Culture

Marcel Kornfeld
Professor, Anthropology
(307) 766-3548 or anpro1@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Archaeology/Paleoindian Culture

Physics

Chip Kobulnicky
Professor, Physics and Astronomy
(307) 766-2982 or chipk@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Physics/Astronomy/Active Learning Classrooms

Porous Media

Mohammad Piri
Professor, Chemical and Petroleum Engineering/Excellence Chair in HE Petroleum
(307) 766-3954 or mpiri@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Porous Media/Oil and Gas

Prehistoric Mammals

Mark Clementz
Associate Professor, Geography and Geology
(307) 766-6048 or mclemen1@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Dinosaurs/Prehistoric Mammals

Programming

Patrick O’Toole
Applications Developer
Wyoming Natural Diversity Database
Berry Biodiversity Conservation Center
(307) 766-3018 or P.OToole@uwyoedu
Specialty: Programming/Software Development

Rangeland Ecology and Management

Jeff Beck
Associate Professor, Ecosystem Science & Management
(307) 766-6683 or jlbeck@uwyo.edu
Sage grouse/Wild ungulates/Wild horses/Sagebrush community ecology/Rangeland ecology and management

Robotics

Jeff Clune
Assistant Professor, Computer Science
(307) 766-5190 or jclune@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Robotics/Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning

Remote Sensing

Zhien Wang
Professor and Templeton Faculty Fellow, Atmospheric Science
(307) 766-5356 or zwang@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Clouds/Climate Change/LIDAR/Remote Sensing

Snowpack Evolution

Noriaki Ohara
Assistant Professor, Civil & Architectural Engineering
(307) 766-4366 or nohara1@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Cold Region Hydrology/Snowpack Evolution

Social Studies Education

Mark Helmsing
Secondary Social Studies Education Program Coordinator
Assistant Professor, Secondary Education
(307) 766-3250 or mhelmsin@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Social Studies Education (history, civics, geography and economics)/Standards and Curriculum in U.S. Schools/Popular Culture in TV and Film 

Stable Isotopes

Craig Cook
Stable Isotope Facility Director
Ecosystem Science and Management
(307) 766-6349 or ccook21@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Stable Isotopes

Supply Chain Management

Barry Brewer
Assistant Professor, Decision Science
307-766-4244 or bbrewer4@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Supply Chain Management

Theater

Kevin Inouye
Assistant Professor of Acting, Movement and Stage Combat
University of Wyoming Theatre & Dance
307-766-2433 or kinouye@uwyo.edu
Specialties: Theatrical Firearms Instructor, Stage Combat Instructor, Acting/Stunts for Film/TV

Volcanoes

Ken Sims
Professor, Geology and Geophysics
(307) 766-3386 or ksims7@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Volcanoes

Watersheds

Fred Ogden
Professor, Civil & Architectural Engineering
(307) 766-6171 or fogden@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Hydrology/Watersheds (Colorado River Basin/Panama Canal Watershed)

Weather Modification

Terry Deshler
Professor, Atmospheric Science (retired)
Deshler@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Atmospheric aerosol/Stratospheric ozone/Cloud physics/ Weather modification

Bart Geerts
Professor, Atmospheric Science
(307) 766-2261 or geerts@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Thunderstorms/Radar/Precipitation/Weather Modification

Wildlife Ecology

Anna Chalfoun
Assistant Professor, Zoology and Physiology
(307) 766-6966 or achalfou@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Habitat Ecology/Wildlife Ecology

Wind Resources

Jonathan Naughton
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
(307) 766-6284 and Naughton@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Wind turbines/Wind farms/Wind resource/Wind turbine aerodynamics/Integration of wind

Wind Turbines

Jonathan Naughton
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
(307) 766-6284 and Naughton@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Wind turbines/Wind farms/Wind resource/Wind turbine aerodynamics/Integration of wind

Winter Ozone

Robert Field
(307) 766-2180 or rfield1@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Winter Ozone/Air Quality

Winter Ozone Levels

Shane Murphy
Associate Professor, Atmospheric Science
(307) 766-6408 or smurph19@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Winter Ozone Levels/Air Quality/Black Carbons/Aerosols

Zoology

Michael Dillon
Associate Professor, Zoology and Physiology
(307) 314-0883 or mdillon3@uwyo.edu
Specialty: Zoology/Alpine bumblebees/Climate Change/Physiology/Ecology/Insect flight biomechanics/Respiration


Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Vimeo Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon