Scholarships & Awards

Sociology Program

Major General Susan L Pamerleau Sociology Scholarship

Susan L. Pamerleau graduated from the University of Wyoming with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology in 1968 and was also the first woman to command the Air Force Personnel Center and the Air Force Reserve Officers Training Corp amongst other accolades.

Chet Meeks Memorial Award

The Department of Sociology proposes that an annual award up to $5000 made to a full-time student working on summer research projects. If the expendable funds permit, more than one award may be granted. The primary purpose of the award is to facilitate research work for students working on summer projects.

Flittie "Rising Senior" Award

Edwin Flittie was head of the Sociology Department for 15 years. The Flittie Scholarship Fund was established by Audie Blevins and Kathy Jensen after Flittie's death in 1987. As a testament to the long-term influence of a teacher, students of Ed Flittie are still contributing to this fund.

Wilbourne Excellence Awards

Amy Johnson (now Wilbourne) was a student in our undergraduate program in the mid-1990s and earned her Masters in Sociology in 1997. She and her husband John Wilbourne established the Wilbourne Excellence Fund for our department, which has been a wonderful resource to help us fund educational enrichment activities both of our faculty and our students.


Contact Us

Department of Criminal Justice and Sociology

Dept. 3197 | A&S Building, Room 208

1000 E. University Avenue

Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: 307-766-2988


Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)