Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate Speaker Series

Fall 2014 Award Recipient

Dr. Kenneth W. W. Sims, Professor
Department of Geology & Geophysics, College of Arts & Sciences

"Volcanoes on the Verge"

November 10, 2014
4:10 p.m.
Berry Center Auditorium, Room 138

Spring 2015 Award Recipient

Stephanie Anderson, Associate Professor
Department of Political Science, College of Arts & Sciences

Date/location to be announced

Call for Nominations for 2015-16 to be announced Spring 2015 

The Faculty Senate Speaker Series is an award established by the Faculty Senate to be awarded to a fall and a spring semester recipient of each academic year. Nominations are open to all faculty and academic professionals. The award carries an honorarium of $1000 and requires two lectures, one on the UW campus and one at the UW-Casper campus. Travel expenses to Casper are provided.

The following should be included in the nomination packet:

  1. Nomination letter (self, peer, chair, or dean), stressing ability to address a general audience and topic of broad general interest
  2. At least one supporting letter from a peer
  3. At least one supporting letter from a student
  4. Self statement describing the topic (an abstract of about 100 words)
  5. Nominee's current CV

    Faculty Speakers will be chosen on the basis of:
  • An exemplary research record;
  • A record of successfully engaging the three elements of the University's mission: teaching, research and/or creative activity, and service;
  • A demonstrated ability to address a general audience in a stimulating and coherent manner;
  • A topic of potentially broad general interest.


The selection committee comprises former award winners.

Send nominations to:

Speaker Series Selection Committee
Faculty Senate Office
Room 227 Wyoming Hall

Or, from off campus:

Speaker Series Selection Committee
Faculty Senate Office
Department 3961
1000 E University Avenue
Laramie Wyoming 82071

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader