Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Promoting Intellectual Engagement Award

LeaRN Program


Congratulations 2019 Award Recipients!

The Promoting Intellectual Engagement (PIE) Award honors instructors who inspire excitement, inquiry, and autonomy in first-year courses.  Recipients of the PIE Award are nominated on-line by sophomore students, and then selected by a committee based on thoughtfulness and volume of student nominations.  Student's descriptions of nominees reveal the heart of excellence in lower-division instruction, courses that comprise the foundation of students' college experience and the crucial seed of intellectual self-awareness.

  Recipients will be honored at a reception Tuesday, April 23rd.  The PIE Award is co-sponsored by LeaRN, Ellbogen CTL, Residence Life & Dining, and Advising, Career Services & Exploratory Studies.


Carla Beckett - Chemistry
Stephen Bieber - Mathematics & Statistics
Michelle Bird - Mathematics & Statistics
Karagh Brummond - Summer High School Institute
William Campbell - Economics
Phillip Cantrell - Military Science
Joslyn Cassidy - Honors College
Pavel Chernyavskiy - Mathematics & Statistics
Joshua Clapp - Psychology
Jamie Crait - Botany
Scott Crawford - Mathematics & Statistics
Kyle De Young - Psychology
Tyler Fall - Philosophy & Religious Studies
Dan Fetsco - Criminal Justice & Sociology
Scott Freng - Psychology
Allison Gernant - English
Patricia Goodson - Chemistry
Alison Harkin - Culture Gender & Social Justice
Lori Howe - Honors College
Jill Keith - Family & Consumer Science
Ryan Kobbe - Civil & Architectural Engineering
Chip Kobulnicky - Physics & Astronomy
Elizabeth Lynch - Anthropology
Lindsay Lynch - English
Bradley McCaskill - Mathematics & Statistics
Nina McConigley - Honors College
Daniel McCoy - Haub School of Environment & Natural Resources
Shannon McKinzie - LeaRN
Amber Mercil - Accounting & Finance
Timothy Nichols - Sociology
Kate Northrop - Visual & Literary Arts
Eric Quade - Mathematics & Statistics
Bradley Rettler - Philosophy & Religious Studies
Daniel Rule - Animal Science
Joseph Russo - Education
T. K. Stoudt - Veteran's Center
Zachary Taylor - Politics Public Affairs & International Studies
John Willford - Molecular Biology
Yan Zhang - Modern & Classical Languages
Contact Us

LeaRN: Learning Resource Network

Dept. 3334 | 1000 E. University Ave | Coe Library 105

Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: 307-766-4430


1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon