Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW
Contact Us

University Public Relations

1000 E University Ave

Dept. 3226, Bureau of Mines

Laramie, WY 82071


UW Profiles

Profiles of Distinguished Leaders

William Robertson Coe

William Robertson Coe, Philanthropist
A supporter of free enterprise, Coe’s significant contributions to the American Studies Program and the History Building have permanently strengthened UW’s landscape. The William Robertson Coe Library is named in his honor.

June Etta Downey

June Etta Downey, UW Professor & Chair
As the first woman in the United States to head an academic department, Downey’s contributions included the UW Alma Mater and the UW chapter of Psi Chi, the national honor society of psychology students. Downey Hall is named in her honor.

Emma Howell Knight

Emma Howell Knight, UW Dean of Women
As UW’s first Dean of Women, Knight was a strong advocate for higher education, fostering growth and leadership among her students. Knight Hall is affectionately named in her honor.


S.H. "Doc" Knight, Citizen of the Century
Knight developed renowned UW Geological Museum exhibits and founded the UW Science Camp program. Through his research and contributions Knight is celebrated for making the Department of Geology one of the finest in the country. The S.H. Knight Building is named in his honor.

Aven Nelson

Aven Nelson, UW Professor & President
As UW’s first professor of Botany, Nelson developed prized botany collections and co-founded the UW Rocky Mountain Herbarium, later becoming UW’s 10th president. The Aven Nelson Memorial Building is named in his honor.

Nellie Tayloe Ross

Nellie Tayloe Ross, Wyoming Governor
As an educator and political leader, Ross served as the first female governor in the United States, and Wyoming’s only female governor to date. Ross Hall is named in her honor.

Profiles of Distinguished Alumni

Donna Clausen Boone

Donna Clausen Boone, BA '56
As a pioneer of physical rehabilitation and excercise programs for patients with hemophilia, Boone trained therapists around the world and produced an international newsletter for the World Hemophilia AIDS Center.

John S. Bugas

John S. Bugas, JD '34
Preceding his long-standing career as an executive officer and director for Ford Motor Company, Bugas served as a special agent for the Federal Bureau of Investivation (FBI) dismantling WWII spy and sabotage efforts.

Curt E. Gowdy, Sr.

Curt E. Gowdy, Sr., BS '42
An iconic sportscaster, Gowdy was the voice of the Boston Red Sox, the World Series, and the National Football League. Gowdy was the first sportscaster to win a Peabody award for outstanding journalistic achievement.

Nancy E. Gwinn

Nancy E. Gwinn, BA '67
A recognized leader in international librarianship, Gwinn is the director of the Smithsonian Institution Libraries, and a member of the governing board of the International Federation of Library Associations.

Velma Linford

Velma Linford, MA '35
A life-long educator, Linford served as the State Superintendent of Public Instruction for Wyoming and as a special consultant for the U.S. government under President Kennedy's Administration.

James F. Neal

James F. Neal, BS '51
Named by Fortune magazine as one of the top trial lawyers, Neal served as the lead prosecutor in the conviction of Jimmy Hoffa, and Watergate conspirators.

Thomas Osborne

Thomas Osborne, BS '57
Holding more than 60 patents, Osborne invented the first scientific desktop calculator and the first pocket calculator, both of which are on display in the Smithsonian Institute.

General Sam Phillips

General Sam Phillips, BS '42
As the director of the Apollo program, Phillips successfully landed men on the moon in 1969. He also led the Space and Missile Systems Organization and the National Security Agency.

Conrad Schwiering

Conrad Schwiering, JD '38
Regarded for his paintings of the Teton Mountains, Schwiering was awarded the Trustees' Gold Medal from the National Cowboy Hall of Fame for his outstanding contribution to Western art.

Alan K. Simpson

Alan K. Simpson, JD '58
Dedicating his life to law, education, politics, and humanitarian issues, Simpson served as the Assistant Republican Leader in the U.S. Senate, and the Wyoming House of Representatives.

Wayman C. Wing

Wayman C. Wing, BSCE '47
An internationally known architect and chief architect for Hilton Hotels, Wing was responsible for the structure and design of the Indonesian Pavilion at the New York World's Fair.

Martha Brown Wyrsch

Martha Brown Wyrsch, BA '80
A dedicated member of the energy industry, Wyrsch has held several senior legal and executive roles with energy companies including Vestas-Americas, Spectra Energy, Duke Energy, and Kinder Morgan Inc.

Share This Page:

Contact Us

University Public Relations

1000 E University Ave

Dept. 3226, Bureau of Mines

Laramie, WY 82071


1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon