Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


UW Energy Summer Institute Participants Named

May 30, 2008 — Local students and teachers have been selected for the second annual Energy Summer Institute June 8-21, sponsored by the University of Wyoming School of Energy Resources (SER).

The 16 ninth graders and six middle- and high-school teachers will attend classes covering renewable wind energy, energy-efficient architecture and geospatial technologies including global position systems, geographic information systems and remote sensing. A class for the teachers will provide them with techniques for integrating secondary mathematics and science in context of energy issues.

The summer institute also gives students the chance to learn about higher education and what UW offers, says Mark Northam, SER director
Classes will be taught by Assistant Professor Anthony Denzer from the Department of Architectural Engineering and Scott Morton, research scientist from the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Kenneth Driese of the Wyoming Geographic Information Science Center and Steven Prager, assistant professor in the Department of Geography, will teach the geospatial technologies class. Joseph Stepans, professor emeritus with the College of Education, will lead the class for the middle school and high school teachers.

The SER provides nationally-competitive undergraduate and graduate instruction in energy-related disciplines; advances the state of the art in Wyoming energy-related science, technology, and economics research; and supports scientific and engineering outreach through dissemination of information to Wyoming's energy industries, companies, community colleges, and government agencies.

Participants, listed by hometown, are:

Afton -- Jared Inskeep
Basin -- Cody Fagley, Joseph Hoffman
Cheyenne -- Mallory Carr, Carter Schultz
Cody -- Katrina Pasek
Dubois -- Joseph Bartlett
Encampment -- Nathan Davis
Glenrock -- Erica Caves, Marie Kroll
Kemmerer -- Jesse Schulthess
Lander -- Maggie Bell, Mike Marchant, Reuben Watkins
Laramie -- Charlotte Edman, Katie Kempema, Nick Mayes, Natalie Shih
Ranchester -- Timothy Maze
Wheatland -- Kenny Collins, Elijah Leinen
Worland -- Heather Hoffman

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader