Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Three women with backpacks hike on a highway

Deer 139

Three bold women test their endurance and wits as they brave the formidable, migratory journey of a pregnant, scrawny doe.

Click here to watch the full film on PBS.

  • Watch the trailer.
  • Host your own screening.
  • Learn about the research behind the film.
  • Donate to support mule deer research.

The Team

Sam Dwinnell Sam Dwinnell, expedition leader, studied the behaviors, habitats, and life-histories of Wyoming Range mule deer from 2013-2020 as a research scientist with the Haub School. She has captured Canada lynx in Colorado’s mountains and tracked bighorn sheep in the Tetons among other wildlife projects, and is currently working toward a PhD studying reindeer in northern Norway.
Anya Tyson Anya Tyson, naturalist and adventurer, thrives at the intersection of conservation and communication. Wielding an accordion and a harmonica, she uses music to engage hundreds of volunteers. A former wildlife technician, she loves to bushwhack, cover ground, and use binoculars whenever possible. 
Tennessee Watson Tennessee Jane Watson, deer impersonator, is an award-winning documentarian and an avid long-distance runner who’s completed two NYC Marathons, the Boston Marathon, and countless 50k trail races.
Jayme Dittmar Jayme Dittmar, director, is an Alaska-based outdoors enthusiast and visual storyteller. She has produced national award-winning shorts for the Department of the Interior, Planet Forward, and Montana PBS. When not filming or editing photos, Jayme can be found behind a dog team, hunting, fishing, or climbing.
Morgan Heim Morgan Heim, director, creates films that weave together the stories of wildlife and humans sharing our planet. Mo is a Senior Fellow with the International League of Conservation Photographers.





Deer 139 is a production of the Monteith Shop and the Ruckelshaus Institute within the Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources and Wyoming Public Media at the University of Wyoming.

Many thanks to our generous supporters who all helped make Deer 139 happen!

Major Funders

National Geographic Society

George B. Storer Foundation

Knobloch Family Foundation

Ralph and Louise Haberfeld


Wyoming Wildlife Foundation

Wyoming Humanities Council

Jackson Hole Wildlife Foundation

Muley Fanatic Foundation

No Man's Land Film Festival


WILD Foundation

Wyoming Migration Initiative

William D. Watson and Suzanne Welch


Gear Sponsors

Coalition Snow

Big Agnes


Yostmark Mountain Equipment

Zeal Optics

Alpacka Raft

Alpine Start




Mark Anselmi
Alyssa Armbruster
Melanie Arnett and Dan McCoy
Ben Bainbridge
Rob Baker and Liz Nysson
Vivian Banks
Thomas Barberi, in memory of Sue Podd
billy barr
Susan Berta
Matthew Blodgett
Christopher and Kathryn Boswell
Kristen and Eric Brown
Bruce Burns
William Byrd
Robert Capella
Sean Carriere
Taylor and Dawn Carroll
Mary Rose Cassa
Joe Ceradini and Carolyn Livensperger
Kimberly Chase
Patricia and Peter Chick
Lois Lake Church
Mary B Clark
Scott Clark
Francesca Cafferata Coe
Becky Cooper
Rox Corbett
Alyson Courtemanch
Carrie Coward
Ross and Gwen Crandall
Cora Crecelius
Philip and Dalinda Damm
Jennifer Davis, in memory of Tam Wheeler
Anna Dwinnell
Liz Dwinnell
Colton Edwards
Danielle Erdley
Carrie Evans
Chris Evavold
Joey and Nikki Faigl
Aida Farag
Matthew Fellerhoff
Brad Ferguson
Bonnie Jean Flom
Don Flowers
Jacqueline Frair
Connor Frick
Barry Gillespie
John Gleason
Rob Good
Anna Graves
Dawn Graydon
Richard and Mary Guenzel
Bill Haeffelin
Krista Hanni
Rosemary Haroian
Mark Headley and Christina Pehl
Bryan Heidmous
Kadie Heinle
Lauren Hendrickson
Jenn Hess
Andreas Hilfinger
Ashlee Hilton
Cori Holladay
Jeff and Emily Hood
Paul Hood, in memory of Nimbus
Rob and Jean Hood
Pat Huset
Erica Husse




Jane Ifland
Orly Jalowksi
Bonnie and Jon Jones
Matthew Kauffman and Amy Robohm
Jon and Julia Kelly
Mike Kennedy
Stephanie Kessler and John Gans
Michael Kussiek
Brooke Langle
Lilia Larkin
Laurie and James Latta
Spencer Lawley
Sean Lee
Benjamin Lemmond
Elizabeth Lillard
John Litynski
Jacob Locke
Hannah Lohmuller
Meryl Lucchesi
Drew Lyness and Tracie Keene
Liz Maffet
Leslie Mattson and William Rigsby
Marcia and Ryan McChesney
Mary McCrady
Kathy McGinley
Jeffrey McIntosh
Charles Melman
Ken Miller
Lindsay Millward
Robyn Morrison
Anna Moscicki
Molly Mulcahy
Kelley and Chris Myers
Chris Myrick
Shannon Nacey
National Outdoor Leadership School
Danielle O’Dell
Connor O’Meara
Wendy and Joel Ostlind
Shandra Parks
James and Debbie Parsekian
Madelyn Player
Andrea and Chris Redman
Amiee Reese
Gregory Rien
Alan and Hana Rogers
Lindsey Sanders and Nathan Turner
Brian Schyberg and Karen McVay
Kevin Seaman
Pat Sievert
Paul Silvagni
Alfred and Ruth Smiley
Christy and Karl Smith
Jeff Smith and Emily Parsons
Jared Spaulding
Don and Amy Stone
Brittany and Aaron Thompson
Kelli Trujillo
Samara Van Harmelen
G. A. Villaire
Joli Vollers
Philipp Wickey
Christine Williams
Erin Wood
Ry Woody
Wyoming Outdoor Council
Mary Ann and Ben Zastrow
Jane Zelikova

Logos of supporting organizations, Haub School, Monteith Shop, Wyoming Public Media, National Geographic, George B. Storer Foundation, Knobloch Family Foundation, Muley Fanatic Foundation, Jackson Hole Wildlife Foundation, Wyoming Humanities Council, Stio, Big Agnes, and Coalition Snow.

Learn More

For any inquiries about the film, click here to email producer Emilene Ostlind.

Read more about mule deer research happening in the Monteith Shop at the Haub School.


Contact Us

Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources

Bim Kendall House

804 E Fremont St

Laramie, WY 82072

Phone: (307) 766-5080

Fax: (307) 766-5099


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon