Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Barnyards & Backyards Live!

Barnyards & Backyards Live!

Online Events - Links to upcoming & recordings

Summer 2020 - 

(All sessions begin at 10 am) Join our hosts online as we have a friendly chat with our guests about a variety interesting subjects - growing vegetable & fruits, raising livestock, growing trees, native plants, pasture management and more! Type your questions in the question box as we go along.  Show Recordings and Resources
Watched a show? We'd like your feedback

 

Episode Title

Zoom link

Date

Trees - What's in our communities/yards and how to diversify? - guest Nina Wajrowski, Cooperative Resource Forester, Wyoming State Forestry Division
Friday, July 17, 2020
Buying hay – lets get to the good stuff - guest Scott Cotton, UW Extension
Friday, July 24, 2020
Protecting your garden and property from deer damage - guest Abby Perry, UW Extension
Friday, July 31, 2020
Seed harvesting and saving - guest Karen Panter, UW Extension Horticulture Specialist
Friday, August 7, 2020

Past shows: (Scroll down to the bottom for the latest)

 
 
Soils for successful vegetable gardens - guest Caitlin Youngquist, UW Extension
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
How to choose seeds for gardening success - guest Bobbie Holder, UW Extension
Friday, April 3, 2020
Starting plants inside for transplanting - guest Donna Hoffman, UW Extension
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Getting started with chickens - guest Hudson Hill, UW Extension
Friday, April 10, 2020
Planting early spring veggies - guest Catherine Wissner, UW Extension
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Getting started raising sheep - guest Whit Stewart, UW Extension
Friday, April 17, 2020
Extending the growing season for vegetables - guest Brian Sebade, UW Extension
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Spring birds in Wyoming- guest Jacelyn Downey, Audubon Rockies
Friday, April 24, 2020
Successfully watering your garden - guest Chris Hilgert, UW Extension
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Spring weed control - guest Jenna Meeks, Goshen Co. Weed & Pest
Friday, May 1, 2020
Choosing and growing flowers for Wyoming - guest Amanda Romero, UW Extension
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
How to plan out a landscape around your house
Friday, May 8, 2020
Grazing small acreages - guest Barton Stam, UW Extension
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Extending the season with high tunnels and geodesic domes - guests Jeff Edwards (UWE) and Ted Craig (WDA)
Friday, May 15, 2020
Getting started with goats - guest Mary Louise Wood, UW Extension
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Fly management for the barn and pasture - guest Derek Scasta, UW Extension
Friday, May 22, 2020
Wildflowers of Wyoming - guest Dorothy Tuthill, UW Biodiversity Institute
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Common insect issues in garden and yard - guest Scott Schell, UW Extension
Friday, May 29, 2020
Protecting our trees from insect invaders…(Emerald Ash Borer is coming!) - guest Tara Costanzo, WY State Forestry Division
Friday, June 5, 2020
Native plants for your garden
Friday, June 12, 2020
Equine nutrition (including grass founder) - guest Jenny Ingwerson-Niemann, UW Extension Equine Specialist
Friday, June 19, 2020
Plants toxic to cattle, horses and sheep - guests Derek Scasta and Barton Stam, UW Extension
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
The ins and outs of pasture irrigation - guest Jeremiah Vardiman, UW Extension
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Plant diseases in the garden - guest Bill Stump, UW Extension Plant Pathology Specialist
Friday, July 10, 2020
Contact Us

Barnyards & Backyards

University of Wyoming Extension

1000 E. University Ave, Department #3354

Laramie, WY 82071

Email: barnyardsbackyards@uwyo.edu

Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window) Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon