Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming

Global Resource Navigation

Give to UW
Download UW Viewbook
Visit Campus
Home Page

Contact Us

Department of Criminal Justice

Dept. 3197

A&S Building, Room 223

Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: 307-766-2988

Fax: 307-766-3913


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)

Department of Criminal Justice

College of Arts & Sciences

Scholarships 2015-2016


There is one $1000 scholarship available this year.

  • Must be a UW Criminal Justice Major
  • Preference will be given to students who are current or former law enforcement officers and/or students who have demonstrated an interest in pursuing a career in law enforcement.


Wyoming Association of Sheriffs and Chiefs of Police (WASCOP) Scholarships

There are two WASCOP scholarships available this year:

  • One $500 scholarship will be available for internship or practicum travel expenses and will be awarded to a junior or senior University of Wyoming criminal justice major who has obtained an internship or practicum for the following academic year. 
  • One $500 scholarship will be available to a new or returning University of Wyoming criminal justice major who already has experience working in the criminal justice profession.

WASCOP Scholarship Information Flier

WASCOP Scholarship Application

William D. Griffith Scholarship

There are three William D. Griffith scholarships available this year:

  • Three $1500 scholarships awarded, 1 Sophomore, 1 Junior, and 1 Senior (Must be a University of Wyoming Criminal Justice major)

John R. Shell Memorial Scholarship

There is one John R. Shell Memorial scholarship available this year:

  • One $1500 scholarship awared (Must be a University of Wyoming Criminal Justice major).

William D. Griffith and John R. Shell Memorial Scholarship Flier

"Being honored as a 2008-2009 recipient of the Griffith and Shell Scholarships was one of the greatest highlights of my freshman year at UW.  It was a rewarding feeling to know that alumni of this program are so supportive of the great department that is Criminal Justice.  I am thrilled to carry on the legacy that so many wonderful people have developed at the University of Wyoming."

--Nema Koohmaraie, 2011 Criminal Justice graduate

William D. Griffith Scholarship

Due to the generosity of William D. Griffith, students majoring in Criminal Justice at the University of Wyoming benefit from enhancements to the program provided by these funds.  These enhancements include the William D. Griffith scholarships, a speakers series, access to related educational opportunities, and support for student club activities.  Each year, up to three students (a sophomore, a junior, and a senior) majoring in Criminal Justice can receive a William D. Griffith Scholarship in the amount of $1500.  A faculty committee selects the recipients based on their academic records, outside activities such as community service, clubs and organizations, and financial.


Above is one of the 2014 Griffith Scholarship Winner Janelle Klemm pictured with Eric Wodahl

John R. Shell Scholarship

The Department of Criminal Justice also offers the John R. Shell Memorial Scholarship thanks to the generosity of the John R. Shell family.

Each year, one student (a junior or senior) majoring in Criminal Justice can be awarded a $1500 scholarship.  A faculty committee selects the recipient based on the conditions that he or she is a Wyoming resident, shows financial need, and aspires to be a police officer.


Pictured above is Shell Scholarship recipient Zachary Stellern pictured with Eric Wodahl.

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Vimeo Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainfull Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon