Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Visiting Writers Series

The Department of Creative Writing's Visiting Writers Series brings a number of distinguished authors to campus each semester. MFA students have the opportunity to work with notable visiting writers who give readings, participate in discussions, and visit classes.


Current Visiting Writers

2022-2023 Academic Year

Steven Dunn


Previous Visiting Writers

2021-2022 Academic Year

Tommy Orange, Kali Farado-Anstine

2017-2018 Academic Year

Rattawut Lapcharoensap (Eminent Writer in Residence), Cheryl Strayed

2016-2017 Academic Year

Jennifer Moxley (Eminent Writer in Residence), Jennifer Tennican, Eleni Sikelianos, Laird Hunt

2015-2016 Academic Year

Nam Le (Eminent Writer in Residence), Laura Pritchett, James Longenbach

2014-2015 Academic Year

Bhanu Kapil (Eminent Writer in Residence), Antonio Sacre, Julie Carr, Kent Nelson, Melanie Thon, Lance Olsen, Claudia Rankine, Sonja Livingston

2013-2014 Academic Year

Dinaw Mengestu (Eminent Writer in Residence), Sherwin Bitsui (Eminent Writer in Residence), Claire Vaye Watkins, Rachel Levitsky,Chris Cokinos

2012-2013 Academic Year

John Brandon, ZZ Packer, Mark Nowak (Eminent Writer in Residence), Maggie Nelson (Eminent Writer in Residence), CA Conrad, Brian Leung

2011-2012 Academic Year

Brian Kim Stefans (Digital Media Symposium), Rebecca Lindenberg, John D'Agata (Eminent Writer in Residence), Ann McCutchan, Charles Baxter, Camille Dungy, Colson Whitehead (Eminent Writer in Residence), Ed Roberson (Eminent Writer in Residence)

2010-2011 Academic Year

Cathy Park Hong, Ben Marcus, Rebecca Solnit (Eminent Writer in Residence), Rattawut Lapcharoensap (Eminent Writer in Residence), JanZwicky and Robert Bringhurst (Eminent Writers in Residence), C.J. Box, Laura Bell, Mark Jenkins

2009-2010 Academic Year

Philip Gourevitch (Eminent Writer in Residence), Edward P. Jones (Eminent Writer in Residence), John D'Agata, Nicole Walker, Glen Pourciau, Gaby Calvocoressi, Kate Greenstreet, Rebecca Curtis, Don DeLillo, Thomas King

2008-2009 Academic Year

Jake Adam York and Jennifer S. Davis, Evie Shockley, James Salter, Chelsey Minnis, Lara Glenum, Arielle Greenberg, Salman Rushdie, Greg Pierotti, B.H. Fairchild, Manuel Munoz, Chris Bachelder, Karl Iagnemma, and Neela Vaswani

2007-2008 Academic Year

Michael Ondaatje, Art Spiegelman


Contact Us

Creative Writing Program

1000 E. University Ave.

Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: 307-766-3269

Fax: 307-766-3189


Pronghorn Logo
Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon