Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Gifts and Scholarships|Department of Sociology

Chet Meeks Memorial Fund

One of our alumni, Chet Meeks, died on January 11, 2008 from colon cancer. Chet graduated from our department in 1995 and received a Ph.D. from SUNY-Albany. He was Assistant Professor of Sociology at Georgia State University at the time of his death.

The Chet Meeks Memorial Fund was established by Oliver Walter, former Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at UW, and his family who were close friends of Chet. Since its establishment, dozens of others have contributed to the fund. Each year, it supports up to two summer research awards to students in our MA program. These awards help support the recipients while they conduct thesis research in the summer.

View recipients of the Chet Meeks Summer Research Fund.

Read the Chet Meeks Summer Research Fund funding announcement and testimonials from past award recipients.

Flittie Scholarship Fund

Edwin Flittie was head of the Sociology Department for 15 years. The Flittie Scholarship Fund was established by Audie Blevins and Kathy Jensen after Flittie's death in 1987. As a testament to the long-term influence of a teacher, students of Ed Flittie are still contributing to this fund. We are proud to report that this fund has reached endowment level. Consequently, the principle is protected and scholarships are now funded solely through investment returns. Thus the fund will be available in perpetuity for the purpose of awarding scholarships to our top students.

Each year the Department of Sociology awards the Edwin G. Flittie Scholarship ($500) to one or more outstanding undergraduate students.  The criteria for the scholarship are:

  • A minimum of 90 credit hours earned, with at least 15 credit hours in Sociology
  • An overall minimum GPA of 3.5 in sociology course

The department reviews the eligible students and awards the scholarship at its graduation-and-honors banquet near the end of the spring semester of each year.

View the recipients of the Flittie Scholarship.

Wilbourne Excellence Fund

Amy Johnson (now Wilbourne) was a student in our undergraduate program in the mid-1990s and earned her Masters in Sociology in 1997. She and her husband John Wilbourne established the Wilbourne Excellence Fund for our department, which has been a wonderful resource to help us fund educational enrichment activities both of our faculty and our students.

Graduating with Honors in Sociology

Beginning in 2013, the department will award Wilbourne Excellence scholarships to majors who graduate with Honors in Sociology. To graduate with Honors, majors must have a 3.2 overall GPA, a 3.5 GPA in sociology courses, and one graduate-level (5000-level) sociology course.

Wilbourne Junior Scholar Award

In 2014, the department established a new scholarship, the Wilbourne Junior Scholar Award, which is funded by the Wilbourne Excellence Fund. It consists of an award of $500 to a full-time undergraduate major in Sociology who has standing as a Junior (i.e. has completed at least 60 credit hours, but not more than 90 credit hours). The primary purpose of the award is to recognize a junior in our program who meets the following criteria:

  • A 3.0 or higher UW cumulative GPA
  • A 3.25 or higher UW GPA in Sociology with at least 9 credit hours of coursework
  • A demonstrated record of service to UW and/or the community

The department reviews the eligible students and presents the award at its graduation-and-honors banquet near the end of the spring semester of each year.

View recipients of the Wilbourne Junior Scholar Award.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader // Accessibility Accessibility information icon