Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Staff Recognition

Staff Recognition Day 2021 Award Nominees

We are pleased to announce the nominees and winners for this year's Staff Recognition Day. Although we could not celebrate these individuals in person, we strongly encourage others to send a congratulatory message to those who are listed below. UW would not be the same without their hard work and dedication!

Check out the video for a message of thanks from several folks around UW. It should also be noted that we also have many staff members who have achieved their Years of Service milestones.

 All-Star Team Staff Award:

  • Team 1: Michael Dunn, Lisa Owen, Christopher Stanton, Brenda Vanderpool, Jay Wuensch

  • Team 2: Elizabeth Butkus, Hally Killion, Jennifer McKenna, Madison Vance, Marce Vasquez

  • Team 3: Elizabeth Butkus, Hally Killion, Jennifer McKenna, Madison Vance, Marce Vasquez

  • Team 4: Amy Bey, Nicole Fifield, Eric Kahl, Todd Mendick, Devin Moss

  • Team 5: Elizabeth Butkus, Hally Killion, Jennifer McKenna, Marce Vasquez

  • Team 6: Amy Bey, Nicole Fifield, Eric Kahl, Todd Mendick, Decon Moss

  • Team 7: Adam Comeau, Katie Taylor

  • Team 8: William Brown, Carolyn Kerstetter, Shannon Person, Pam Reeves

  • Team 9: Gwen Bustos, Jack Chapman, Kathy Kirkaldie, Trish Schumacher

  • Team 10: Sydney Ernst, Alex Farber, Ken Martinez, Jenn Pursley, Violet Rubin-Hodges

  • Team 11: Maria Bennett, Michelle Hansen

  • Team 12: Toni Boughton, Orrin Koenig

WINNER: Team 2/3 - Elizabeth Butkus, Hally Killion, Jennifer McKenna, Madison Vance, Marce Vasquez

Custodian of the Year Award:

  • Joseph Baker

  • Cathy Brown

  • Betty Cruz

  • Seth Hoos

  • Andrew Lamb

  • Larry Mendoza

  • Babetta Millman

  • Ed Moeller

  • Mary Nottage

  • Romelia Salas

WINNER: Mary Nottage

E.G. Meyer Family Award:

  • Jeannie Czech

  • Mollie Hand

  • Cassandra Jenkins

  • Sally Quade

WINNERS: Cassandra Jenkins, Sally Quade

Employee of the Year:

  • First Quarter – Libby Thorson

  • Second Quarter – Tyler Kerr

  • Third Quarter – Jill Aldridge

  • Fourth Quarter – Daryl Schultz

WINNER: Tyler Kerr

Pete Simpson Golden Gloves Award:

  • Jeannie Czech

  • Emily Edgar

  • Jennifer McKenna

WINNER: Emily Edgar

True Grit Award:

  • Jeannie Czech

  • Shannon Plumb

  • Craig Sorensen

  • Chanda Ziegler

  • Shaun Ziegler

  • Minette Zwieg

WINNERS: Jeannie Czech, Shaun Ziegler


Jodi K. Humphrey Inspirational Staff Award:

  • Patricia Flores

  • Debra Littlesun

  • Cheyenne Niemi

  • Lori Schuler

WINNER: Cheyenne Niemi

Off-Campus Award:

  • Abi Gerhard

  • Brandi Roesener

  • Melisa Valtierra

WINNERS: Brandi Roesener, Melisa Valtierra

Skilled Trades Award:

  • James Bartush

  • Dean Gallegos

  • James Montez

  • Matthew Roepke

  • Scott Schneidervin

WINNER: James Bartush

Supervisor of the Year Award:

  • Richard Bazan

  • Christine Wade-Hime

WINNER: Richard Bazan

Unsung Hero Award:

  • James Bartush

  • Jack Chapman

  • Kyle Day

  • Amanda Endsley

  • Luke Hays

  • Cindy Ishkanian

  • Jennifer McKenna

  • Shannon Plumb

  • Tammy Rompola

  • Mark Wittstock

WINNERS: Jack Chapman, Jennifer McKenna, Shannon Plumb, Tammy Rompola


Due to continuing COVID19 restrictions, this year's Staff Recognition Day event could not be held. Years of Service gifts were distributed earlier this semester and award winners' plaques will be distributed after they are announced. If you have any questions or concerns, contact your Senator or send a message to Thank you for your patience and we’ll be back live and in-person for Staff Recognition Day in 2022!

Employee of the Quarter

Staff Senate coordinates the Employee of the Quarter program. Read more about the award or nominate an employee.

Staff Recognition Day

Staff Recognition Day is an annual event honoring the hard-working staff of the University of Wyoming. It provides an opportunity to show all staff members how much they are appreciated for everything they do to keep the main UW campus, and the facilities throughout the State of Wyoming, functioning and providing a top-notch educational experience to thousands of students.

This event typically features:

We are proud of the quality of work being done by UW staff members. We encourage both supervisors and colleagues to take a moment and nominate a deserving staff member today! 

For more information, see our Staff Awards page, which identifies each award, the open nomination period for each award, and links to online nomination forms.

Past Years


staff senate home      Find us on Facebook



1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon