Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Success Continues for UW Policy Debaters

January 23, 2008

Four University of Wyoming debate team members combined to defeat teams from seven universities at the Val Browning Round Robin at Weber State University Jan. 19-20.

Mike Bausch and Tony Johnson (both from Centennial, Idaho) advanced to semifinals and took third place overall, and Jamie Piechura (Newcastle) and Kelly Nickel (Parker, Colo.) received quarter-finalist honors.

The tournament marks Bausch and Johnson's second consecutive successful performance. The pair advanced to elimination rounds at a CSU-Fullerton tournament, defeating debaters from more than five other universities.

The UW policy squad is now ranked 15th among 100 national schools and is first in the conference that includes schools in Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada, Idaho and Utah.

UW is one of only two schools in the top spots for both parliamentary and policy-style debating.

Two debaters, Anthony Roberts and Jess Ryan (Lander), are listed seventh among the top 16 parliamentary debate teams. They have been invited to compete at the National Parliamentary Tournament of Excellence championship in March.

The UW debate team ranks 15th nationally among the top National Debate Tournament varsity debate squads.

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon