Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Pharmacy Students Receive White Coats at Ceremony

July 1, 2009
Two men
UW School of Pharmacy Dean John Vandel congratulates pharmacy student Mikal Rutten during the school's recent white coat ceremony.

Members of the University of Wyoming School of Pharmacy class of 2012 were given symbolic white coats during a recent ceremony.

"The white coat presented to the students is symbolic of the students' professionalism and commitment to their future patients and colleagues," says John Vandel, School of Pharmacy Dean. "It stands for honor, integrity, duty, accountability, respect for others, excellence and altruism."

Admission to the professional program is limited and highly competitive. UW admitted 52 new students from among more than 500 applicants. UW's pharmacy curriculum begins with a two-year preprofessional program followed by the four-year professional program of three years of coursework on campus and 40 weeks of experiential coursework performed off campus.

Members of the class of 2012 listed by hometown:

Afton -- Sarah Simpson.

Boise, Idaho -- Shawn Dalton.

Broken Bow, Nebraska -- William Rowden.

Casper -- James Cordonier, Bree Phillips and Angela Wilde.

Cheyenne -- Nicholas Angel, Bret Barnes, Jung Kim, Jackson Quick, Sarah Ruppert, Morganne Smyth and Jonathan Will.

Colorado Springs, Colo. -- Michael Crookston.

Edgewater, Colo. -- Mary Engelhardt.

Evanston -- Cory Officer.

Fort Collins, Colo. -- Vanessa Knapp.

Grand Junction, Colo. -- Amanda Steel.

Laramie -- Stephanie Bassett, Matthew Clark, Jenna Gradisher, Travis Graham, Mark Harmon, Jessica Hopper, Kara Kent, Leena Myran, Joseph Poling, Amy Puckett and Mikal Rutten.

Minatare, Neb. -- Sara Lookabill.

Moorcroft -- Jeremy Wagner.

Newcastle -- Patrick Baldwin and Joshua Jons.

Newport News, Va. -- Sean LeBaron.

Owatonna, Minn. -- Jared Underdahl.

Pavillion -- Angela Denke.

Rapid City, S.D. -- Mikala Henzlik and Nathan Temme.

Reno, Nev. -- Betsy Kidd.

Rock Springs -- Christine Keldsen and Alex McCurtain.

Rock Valley, Iowa -- Aaron Van Den Berg.

San Francisco, Calif. -- Thanh-Nga Nguyen.

Scottsbluff, Neb. -- Kara Hagood and Matthew Weingart.

Sidney, Neb. -- Amy Borcher.

Sterling, Colo. -- John Mildenberger.

Wichita, Kan. -- Jennifer Wade.

Wright -- Myles Holt.

Posted on Wednesday, July 01, 2009

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon