Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


Three UW Professors Named 2009 AAAS Fellows

December 17, 2009 — Three University of Wyoming professors have been awarded the distinction of 2009 Fellow from the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest general scientific society.

UW's Stephen T. Jackson, Bruce Parkinson and George F. Vance were among the 531 members selected by their AAAS peers this year recognizing their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

They will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin at the AAAS Fellows Forum in February at the association's annual meeting in San Diego.

Jackson, a professor in the Department of Botany, was recognized for distinguished contributions to the fields of paleontology and earth-system history, particularly the conceptual and empirical studies integrating ecology, paleoecology, biogeography and climate change.

A renowned solar energy researcher and a professor in the Department of Chemistry and the UW School of Energy Resources, Parkinson was recognized for significant contributions to fields such as photoelectrochemical energy conversion, materials chemistry, surface science, scanning probe microscopies and nanomaterials.

Vance, a professor in the Department of Renewable Resources, was recognized for distinguished contributions to environmental issues/quality of agriculture, mine lands and water resources associated with containment remediation/restoration, methodologies and natural resource management.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association's 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer.

The AAAS, founded in 1848, includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science and serves 10 million individuals. The association also publishes the journal, Science ( as well as Science Translational Medicine ( and Science Signaling (

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader