Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Students Successful in Society for Range Management Competition

March 4, 2010
Man smiling
Andrew Telander of Laramie was third overall among individuals in the Undergraduate Range Management Exam competition.

Department of Renewable Resources students in the University of College of Agriculture and Natural Resources claimed honors during competition at the recent 63rd annual Society for Range Management annual meeting in Denver.

Andrew Telander of Laramie was third overall among individuals in the Undergraduate Range Management Exam (URME) competition. The UW URME team placed second among 24 teams. BYU was first, and the University of Alberta was third.

In other competition, the team of Sage Askin, Douglas, Leena Horton, Riverton, and Tate Smith, Rye, Colo., was third out of eight teams in the Rangeland Cup poster competition. In addition, Ryder Simeniuk of Opheim, Mont., received the $6,500 Masonic Range scholarship from the Society for Range Management.

Assistant Professor Jeff Beck, who coached the Rangeland Cup and URME teams, praised their efforts.

"Your efforts were tremendous before and during the meeting, and the awards the University of Wyoming Range Club participants and teams won demonstrated to everyone at the meeting the quality of students who earn degrees in our program."

Beck told students he's confident next year's team will do well with several freshman, sophomore and junior students placing higher than many of the 209 students taking the exam.

Members of the URME team are Sage Askin, Douglas; Kayla Bish, Longmont; Colo.; Sydney Burek, Elizabeth, Colo.; Travis Decker, Craig, Colo.; Leena Horton, Riverton; Ben Jech, Rushville, Neb.; Wade LaCount, Rifle, Colo.; Haley Lockwood, Big Piney; Katie Nelson, Philip, S.D.; Katie Schade, Fort Sumner, N.M.; Ticia Shelton, Michelle Sutherburg, Adam Teeter, and Andrew Telander, all Laramie; Karley Shepperson, Midwest; Kellen Smith, Gillette; Landon Smith, Holyoke, Colo.; Jordan Wambeke, Cody; Rives White, Daniel; Emily Wotkyns, Durango, Colo.; and Amanda VanPelt, Fernley, Nev.

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon