Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


UW to Host Women in Science Conference

April 22, 2010 — textNearly 500 junior and senior high school students from more than 15 Wyoming communities have registered for this year's Women in Science - Expanding Your Horizons (WIS-EYH) Conference scheduled Tuesday, May 11, at the University of Wyoming.

Conference organizers says the goals are to spark students' passion in science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields and to provide mentors and role models to these young people. Volunteers from UW and local businesses will present workshops, give tours of laboratory and research facilities and discuss a variety of science- and technology-related topics. The Denver Zoo will present a wildlife show at the close of the day.

Indy Burke, director of UW's Haub School and Ruckelshaus Institute of Environment and Natural Resources, will be the keynote speaker. She is an ecosystem scientist, with particular expertise in carbon and nitrogen cycling of semiarid ecosystems.

The UW Space Grant Consortium co-hosts the event with EYH, which recently received a National Science Board public service award for its service to young women.

For more information and details regarding the conference, visit the Web site at

Students from the following Wyoming communities have registered to attend the conference:

Baggs -- Little Snake River Valley School.
Casper -- Centennial Junior High School, Star Lane Center.
Cheyenne -- Johnson Junior High School, Carey Junior High School, Cheyenne East High School.
Douglas -- Douglas Middle School, Douglas High School.
Glenrock -- Glenrock High School.
Green River -- Green River High School.
Kaycee -- Kaycee High School.
Lander -- Starrett Junior High School, Lander Valley High School.
Laramie -- Laramie Junior High School, Laramie High School, UW Lab School.
Mountain View -- Mountain View Middle School.
Rawlins -- Rawlins Cooperative High School.
Riverton -- Arapaho Charter High School, Arapaho Middle School.
Torrington -- Torrington High School, Southeast High School.
Wheatland -- Wheatland High School.
Worland -- Worland High School.

Indy Burke, director of UW's Haub School and Ruckelshaus Institute of Environment and Natural Resources at UW, will be the keynote speaker.


Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader