Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Students Elect President, Senators

April 12, 2011
Woman and man
Megan Degenfelder and Ty McNamee are the new president and vice president of the Associated Students of the University of Wyoming. (Brian Degenfelder Photo)

University of Wyoming students have elected Megan Degenfelder of Casper, a senior in economics and political science, as president of the Associated Students of the University of Wyoming (ASUW).

Ty McNamee of Shoshoni, a junior in secondary education/English, was elected vice president.

Degenfelder will preside over the student government that oversees a budget of more than $1 million, including funding for a variety of student programs. She also will serve as an ex officio member of the UW Board of Trustees.

More than 25 percent of the eligible voters turned out for the online election held Wednesday through Friday, April 6-8.

ASUW senators, who will serve on various committees and represent their colleges in budgetary and policy matters affecting all UW students, also were elected.

Senators, listed by hometown and the college they represent, are:

Baggs - Jaymie Sheehan, Education.

Casper - Emily Bennett, Joel Defebaugh, Brett Kahler and Jaryd Unangst, all Arts and Sciences.

Centennial, Colo. - Torey Burrows, Education.

Cheyenne - Brandon Krempels, Engineering; Jared O'Brien, Engineering; Robert West, Arts and Sciences.

Douglas - Cassandra Igo, Education; Megan Kolf, Heath Sciences.

Evanston - Luis Garcia, Engineering.

Hulett - Madison Brown, Law.

Grand Junction, Colo. - Kat Haley, Business.

Laramie - Joseph Chenchar, Arts and Sciences; Sam Rubino, Engineering; Rachel Wimbish, Arts and Sciences.

Littleton, Colo. - Jordan Parry, Education.

Los Angeles, Calif. - Noah Hull, Agriculture.

Loveland, Colo. - Alex Brink, Arts and Sciences.

Marietta, Ga. - Katie Drumhiller, Agriculture.

Martin, S.D. - Phillip Abernathy, Business.

New Orleans, La. - Thao Nguyen, Arts and Sciences.

Northglenn, Colo. - Andrew Wilson, Business.

Powell -- Megan Darrow, Arts and Sciences.

Riverton - Kalayla Hough, Health Sciences.

Rock Springs - Misty O'Lexey, Health Sciences.

Torrington, Adam Lehmitz, Arts and Sciences; Mark Schmick, Health Sciences.

Wheatland - Arla Mistica, Agriculture.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon