Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


UW Scholastic Honor Society Initiates New Members

August 4, 2011 — New members from the University of Wyoming were recently initiated into America's original scholastic honor society, Phi Beta Kappa.

Students are selected by local Phi Beta Kappa members and must graduate in the top 6 percent of their class.

Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1776, during the American Revolution, at the College of William and Mary. Since its founding, Phi Beta Kappa has evolved to become the nation's leading advocate for the liberal arts and sciences at the undergraduate level. Phi Beta Kappa elects new initiates each year from 276 chapters nationwide.

Seventeen U.S. presidents and six Supreme Court justices have been members of America's oldest honor society. Mark Twain, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Ralph Waldo Emerson and Alexander Graham Bell were lifetime members of the organization.

New Phi Beta Kappa members from UW, listed by hometowns, are:

Aberdeen, S.D. -- Kimberly Kovach, anthropology, B.A.    

Buffalo -- Jason Tyser, chemistry/psychology, B.A. 

Casper -- Jenna Buffington, chemistry, B.S. 

Cheyenne -- Ryan Anderson, geography, B.A.; Lindsay Miller, psychology, B.A.; Michael Morris, English, B.A.; and Jade Stutheit, education, E.D.

Chicago, Ill. -- Katherine Perrine, psychology, B.A.

Cody -- Courtney Carlisle, English, B.A.; and Joshua George, biology, B.S.

Edgemont, S.D. -- Emmet Daunt, history, B.A.

Elkhart, Ind. -- Timothy Terlep, mathematics, B.S.

Ester, Alaska -- William Via, international studies/political science, B.A. and B.S.

Evanston -- Amanda Bezyack, English, B.A.; and Emily Boal, social work, psychology, B.A.

Fort Collins, Colo. -- Douglas Murray, French, B.A.

Gillette -- John Barnes, physiology, B.S; and Sarah Gregory, molecular biology, B.S.

Green River -- Ryan Rust, political science, B.S.

Kemmerer -- Luke Tyrrell, physiology, B.S.

La Vista, Neb. -- Jacklynn Pham, English, B.A.

Lake Oswego, Ore. -- Christina Bogdan, English, B.A.

Lander -- Haley Barton, political science/history, B.S.         

Laramie -- Braxton Beemer, history, B.A.; Jennifer Black, anthropology/history, B.A.; Austin Bramwell, music, B.A.; Kellen Hiser, English, B.A.; Kylie Marchant, German, B.A.; Rebecca Marcott, international studies,  B.A.; Lianna Martin, political science, B.S; Rachel Schmidt international studies, B.A.; Allison Strube, political science, B.S.; Holly Tysse, political science, B.S.; and Robert Weatherford, English, B.A.

Loveland, Colo. -- Erin Herlihey, anthropology, B.A.

Olathe, Kan. -- Robert Shriver, biology, B.S.

Powell -- Allison Brayton, psychology, B.A.

Rock Springs -- Steven Kumer, mathematics, B.S.

Sandy, Utah -- Alexandra Smith, mathematics, B.S.

Two Harbors, Minn. -- Eben Johnson, biology/environment and natural resources, B.S.    

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader