Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Chief Washakie Scholarship Recipients Selected at UW

May 21, 2015

Chief Washakie scholarships recently were awarded to 12 University of Wyoming students for the coming academic year.

New recipients are Sharolyn Jimerson, a computer science junior, from Fort Washakie; Sandra Iron Cloud, a graduate student in curriculum and instruction, Ethete; Tucker Russell, an education freshman, Lander; Reinette Tendore, a graduate student in social work, Mill Creek; Xavier Webb, an education junior, Riverton; and Aldora White, a graduate student in curriculum and instruction, Fort Washakie.

Current recipients of the Chief Washakie Scholarship who will continue to receive support for the coming year are: Contessa Bonds, a kinesiology and health promotion senior, Riverton; Colleen Friday, rangeland ecology and watershed management senior, Laramie; Avis Garcia, doctoral candidate in counselor education and supervision, Lander; Mia Holt, a chemistry junior, Lander; Franklin Lanier, psychology senior, Riverton; and Lee Tendore, a junior in American Indian studies, Fort Washakie.

They were recognized at the recent American Indian Studies Honoring of Graduates ceremony.

The scholarship program was created in 2003 when the Chief Washakie Foundation gave $200,000 to UW. Funds were collected to create Chief Washakie statues in the United States and Wyoming capitol buildings, and the joint tribal headquarters in Fort Washakie. The gift was matched by the state, creating a $400,000 endowment that annually produces income for the scholarships.

The Chief Washakie Memorial Endowment at UW helps students and educators -- with significant ties to the Wind River Indian Reservation community -- gain formal knowledge, skills and abilities.

“The spirit of the award assumes that the recipients have, as part of their ultimate goals, some direct participation, appropriate to their educational background, in activities that will further the common good of the people of the Wind River Indian Reservation,” says Debra Littlesun, UW Student Financial Aid associate director.

The selection committee is composed of representatives of the Wind River Indian Reservation community and UW. Members are James Trosper, Chief Washakie Foundation chairman; Mark Harris, co-chairman of the Chief Washakie Foundation; Zedora Enos, great-granddaughter of Chief Washakie; May Raynolds, a Lander resident and member of the Chief Washakie statue committee; Littlesun; Angela Jaime, UW College of Education associate professor; and Amy McClure, UW Outreach regional office academic coordinator at Central Wyoming College.

For more information about the Chief Washakie Scholarships, contact Littlesun at (307) 766-2411 or email

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon