Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Partners with Idaho National Lab to Promote STEM Education

May 5, 2015

Educators from across the state will participate in a workshop designed to promote science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education in the classroom Saturday, May 9, at the University of Wyoming Energy Innovation Center.

The UW School of Energy Resources (SER), Science Posse and NASA Space Grant have partnered with Idaho National Lab’s award-winning K-12 i-STEM team to develop a one-day workshop filled with hands-on experiences for Wyoming educators. The workshop’s goal is to increase awareness of and confidence for implementing integrated STEM learning opportunities in educational programs.

The hands-on sessions, led by the nationally recognized i-STEM team, will provide resources to promote integrated, place-based STEM and take-home strategies to promote engineering practices through family engineering nights.

Additionally, participants will engage in activities including the launch of NASA Space Grant’s high altitude balloon (available to teachers statewide), explore modeling in the Shell 3-D Visualization Lab, and experience multiple STEM lessons with classroom-ready resources. Leading Wyoming educators -- Justin Taylor from Riverton, Teresa Strube from Laramie, Chad Sharpe from Casper, and Robin Schamber from Pinedale -- will present on outstanding STEM programs available to students in their communities.

This workshop was made possible through UW’s recent partnering with the Center for Advanced Energy Studies (CAES). Don Roth, co-director for CAES and deputy director of academics with SER, initiated the collaboration with i-STEM. Planning has begun for a WYSTEM engagement office at the university designed to facilitate collaboration among institutions, programs and people active in STEM outreach across Wyoming.

Saturday’s teacher professional development workshop and the resources provided are examples of what is envisioned for the WYSTEM engagement office and the service provided to Wyoming educators.

For more information, visit the WYSTEM website at or call Sarah Ramsey-Walters at (307) 766-6955.

Participating educators, listed by hometown, are:

Basin -- Magda Stone, Riverside High School.

Big Piney -- John Hart, Big Piney Elementary; Kristi Hibbert, Big Piney Middle School; and Michelle Hymas, Sublette County School District 9.

Casper -- Michele Haass, Frontier Middle School; and Christina Pestotnik, St. Anthony's School.

Cheyenne -- Carmelle Adams-Case, UW; Sarah Fuller, Afflerbach Elementary; Craig Heald, Afflerbach Elementary; and Mary Kinstler, Pioneer Park Elementary.

Douglas -- Mark Steward, Douglas High School.

Evanston -- Clarissa Cole, Evanston High School; and Amanda Hansen, Evanston Child Development Center.

Fort Washakie -- Tom Sanford, Fort Washakie School.

Hanna -- Scott Bradford, Hannah-Elk Mountain Junior/Senior High School.

Lander  --  Angela Perez, Lights On Lander; and Mary Wellman, Cornerstone Christian School.

Laramie -- Annie Bergman, Science Kids; Shawn Green, Harmony Elementary; Jennie Lawrence, Whiting High School; Jacee Phillips, Spring Creek Elementary; Marilyn Specht, St. Laurence O'Toole Elementary; Jason Still, Whiting High School/Integrated STEM Program; Janelle Still, St. Laurence O'Toole Elementary; Mary Louise Wood, UW Extension Albany County 4-H; and UW undergraduate and graduate students: Ashley Avey, Shawna Black, Kimberly Burkhart, Kristin Cortney, Debbie French, Rikka Peaslee, Anne Salisbury, Emily Salisbury and Carlee Spieker.

Manderson -- Heather Thon, Cloud Peak Middle School.

Pine Bluffs -- Rhonda Purdy, Laramie County School District 2.

Rawlins -- Angie Roybal, Rawlins Middle School.

Saratoga --  Christine Fourman, Greater Wyoming Big Brothers Big Sisters; and Nancy Windholz, Saratoga Elementary.

Sheridan -- Beth Kennedy, Sheridan After School Programs.

Wheatland  -- Helena Wagner, Platte County School District 1 STEAM.

Wright -- Natalie Prosenick, Cottonwood Elementary School.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon