Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Second UW Presidential Search Committee Reviews Semifinalists

November 13, 2015

The second committee involved in the search for a new University of Wyoming president has begun considering a list of semifinalists forwarded by the first search committee, with a charge of identifying finalists to submit to the UW Board of Trustees.

The second committee met for more than three hours Thursday to review the semifinalists and plan for interviews with the candidates. The meetings are closed to the public, consistent with the UW Board of Trustees’ plan to keep the names of candidates confidential until the list of finalists is released.

The first committee agreed on the list of semifinalists during a full-day meeting Nov. 6. After the second committee has finished its work, finalists will be identified publicly by the Board of Trustees and come to campus for public forums. As part of the selection process, stakeholders will have an opportunity to meet with the finalists and provide feedback to the Board of Trustees.

The full board will conduct separate interviews with each finalist, consider the input from constituents and then fulfill its responsibility of selecting the next president. That could happen in December.

Members of the second committee are trustees Dave Bostrom, of Worland (chair), John McKinley, of Cheyenne, Dick Scarlett, of Jackson, John MacPherson, of Saratoga, and Wava Tully, of Lusk; Professor Cynthia Weinig of the departments of Botany and Molecular Biology, and the Program in Ecology; Professor Jason Shogren of the Department of Economics and Finance; law student Joel Defebaugh, a former president of the Associated Students of UW (ASUW); Brian Schueler, current ASUW president; Josh Decker, manager of UW Real Estate Operations; Rachel Stevens, data and communications manager in the School of Pharmacy; UW Foundation board member Greg Hill; Lynne Cheney, of Jackson; and Lynne Boomgaarden, of Cheyenne.

For complete information about the presidential search, go to Input on the search is still being accepted via email at

Share This Page:

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon