Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Students Honored During Nursing Convocation Ceremony

May 22, 2017
head portraits of Lawrence Boram, Kristin Kapeles and Sarah Smith

Fourteen University of Wyoming nursing students were honored for their various contributions during the recent Nursing Convocation ceremony, which took place May 12 in the College of Arts and Sciences auditorium.

Drew Adriaens, of Sheridan, was the recipient of the Rudolph “Rudy” and Louise Anselmi and Jeri Kirk Family Trust Nursing Scholarship for demonstrating leadership and responsibility. This scholarship was established by Rudolph Anselmi, who was instrumental in sponsoring the legislation that authorized the establishment of the UW School of Nursing in 1951. The leadership award is one of the many ways Anselmi supported the school and is presented in memory of his wife, Louise.

Lawrence Boram, of Laramie, received the Lina Kennedy White Memorial Award for interest in and aptitude for gerontology. This award honors White, who was active in nursing in the Laramie community for many years. Following her death in the fall of 1980, her daughters -- Mrs. Billie Shepard, of Laramie, and Mrs. Bob McBride, of Buffalo -- established a memorial fund.

Barbara Eakin, of Cheyenne, received the Professional Nurse Award for excellence in practice, community service and professional service. A former faculty member sponsors this award, which is given to a graduate of the RN-BSN completion program.

Anna Felton, of Lander, received the Dr. Carol Macnee Scholarship award for demonstrating excellence in scholarship and/or research. Macnee was a professor in the School of Nursing, who was killed in a car accident in 2008. The faculty and staff of the School of Nursing established this award to remember Macnee’s commitment to research and scholarship.

Kristy Gambill, of Cody, received the Gertrude Gould Memorial Award for excellence in public health nursing practice. Gould was a member of the planning committee to establish a nursing program at UW. The award in her name was established by funds donated by the Laramie Medical Group.

Kristin Kapeles, of Casper, received the Amelia Leino Memorial Award for demonstrating academic excellence and a strong aptitude for family nursing. Leino was appointed the first dean of the nursing program when it was established in 1951. She provided the leadership necessary to establish a Bachelor of Science degree program at the university. Funds for this award come from friends and alumni of the School of Nursing to be given to an on-campus, Basic BSN Program graduate.

Chris Klein, of Fort Collins, Colo., is the recipient of the Courage to Teach Award for the personification of a critically reflective attitude about learning and teaching. Two former faculty members, as well as a previous recipient of this award, sponsor this award for a graduate in the master’s nurse educator program. The recipient of this award is able to teach from the heart.

James Kuster, of Boulder, Colo., received the Dr. Patsy Hesen Haslam Leadership Award for demonstrating leadership and grace in the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Program. This award was created by DNP Program faculty member Ann Marie Haslam Hart, in memory of her mother, Patsy Hesen Haslam. Haslam was a nursing and public health advocate in southern West Virginia, whose community leadership inspired educational and public health initiatives across Appalachia.

Mackenzie McCoy, of Casper, received the School of Nursing Spirit Award for demonstrating exceptional spirit and enthusiasm. This award, given to an on-campus, Basic BSN Program graduate, is specifically funded by faculty and staff to show appreciation for a student who “cheered everyone up, who was a pleasure to have in class, who is a pleasure to be around, and who makes us proud to know as a graduate of our program.”

Anne Monahan Jones, of Gillette, received the Change Agent Award for demonstrating a commitment to improving and changing health. This award was created by the DNP Program faculty.

Gretchen Palmquist, of Moran, received the Dorothy Tupper Memorial Award for demonstrating caring, compassion and interpersonal communication. Tupper joined the faculty in 1952, serving as dean for several years. This award has been maintained with funds given by the class of 1962 in memory of Judy Oglivie, a public health nurse.

Rebekah Sabados, of Brighton, Colo., received the Beverly McDermott Award for demonstrating leadership and political activism. McDermott was on the UW faculty for 25 years, was counselor for the Student Nurses Association and was active in the American Nurses Association.

Sarah Smith, of Gillette, received the Susan McCabe Psychiatric Mental Health Award for demonstrating academic excellence, passion for knowledge and superior clinical practice in the Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP) Program. McCabe was killed in a car accident in 2008. The faculty and staff of the School of Nursing established this award to remember McCabe’s passion for psychiatric mental health nursing.

Sarah Stone, of Hill Air Force Base, Utah, received the Passion for Nursing Award for demonstrating passion, a spirit of eagerness and devotion for nursing. This award is given to a graduate from the Bachelors Reach for Accelerated Nursing Degree (BRAND), and is sponsored by a former faculty member.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon