Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Zoology and Physiology

College of Arts and Sciences

Graduate Students

 

Jesse Alston (PhD)

Thermal ecology of some bats of North American forests
Advisor: Jake Goheen
jalston@uwyo.edu

Jonathan (Yoni) Argov (MS)

Evaluating microclimatic refugia as a buffer to future declines of Cassia Crossbills
Advisor: Craig Benkman
jargov@uwyo.edu

Eric Atkinson (PhD)

Landscape and taxonomic drivers of multi-pathogen infections across a wild avian community.
Advisor: Matt Carling
eatkins1@uwyo.edu

Jeff Baldock (PhD)

Disentangling the role of spring-fed streams to trout production in the upper Snake River watershed
Advisor: Annika Walters
jbaldock@uwyo.edu

Gabriel Barrile (PhD)

Amphibian behavioral ecology and metapopulation dynamics in relation to habitat change and infectious disease
Advisor: Annika Walters and Anna Chalfoun
gbarrile@uwyo.edu

Brittany Brito (MS)

Evaluating resource use in Thomomys spp. through use of DNA metabarcoding: is the Wyoming pocket gopher a dietary specialist?
Advisor: Jacob Goheen
bbrito1@uwyo.edu

Mitch Brunet (MS)

Spatial ecology of mountain lions and coyotes with respect to their ungulate prey
Advisor: Joe Holbrook & Kevin Monteith
mbrunet@uwyo.edu

John Rudolph Bruno (MS)


Advisor: Kara Pratt
jbruno1@uwyo.edu

Emily Burkholder (MS)

Dietary and Spatial Interactions between Recreationists and Montane Red Fox in Grand Teton National Park
Advisor: Joe Holbrook
eburkhol@uwyo.edu

Samuel Case (phD)

Seed dispersal by introduced birds in Hawaiian forests
Advisor: Corey Tarwater
scase9@uwyo.edu

Katrina A Cook (MS)

Habitat Selection of a Relictual Amphibian Population
Advisor: Anna Chalfoun
kwoods3@uwyo.edu

Austin G. Coulter (MS)


Advisor: Jon Prather
acoulte4@uwyo.edu

Alp Demirhan (MS)


Advisor: Qian-Quan Sun
alp.30@hotmail.com

Paul Dougherty (PhD)

Molt, migration, and monsoons: revisiting the avian hybrid zones of the Great Plains
Advisor: Matt Carling
pdoughe1@uwyo.edu

John Fennell (MS)

Exploring mechanisms underlying the persistence of Yellowstone cutthroat trout despite hybridization in the North Fork Shoshone River drainage
Advisor: Annika Walters
jfennel1@uwyo.edu

Emily Gelzer (MS)

How Site Fidelity and Habitat Variability Influence Consistent Population Distribution
Advisor: Jerod Merkle
egelzer@uwyo.edu

Laura Gómez Murillo (MS)

Community changes of ant-follower birds across a fragmentation and rainfall gradient in Panama.
Advisor: Corey Tarwater
lgomezmu@uwyo.edu

Katherine Gura (PhD)

Variation in habitat selection, movements, and demographics of an irruptive, facultative species
Advisor: Anna Chalfoun
kgura@uwyo.edu

Emily Holst (MS)

Large Carnivore Behavior in a Landscape of Fear: How do Individuals of Different Ages and Sexes Exploit Resources while Navigating Risk Mortality?
Advisor: Joe Holbrook
eholst1@uwyo.edu

Rhiannon Jakopak (MS)

Ontogeny of ungulate migration
Advisor: Kevin Monteith
rjakopak@uwyo.edu

Karen Jorgenson (MS)

Food web structure and basal resource availability in alpine stream ecosystems
Advisor: Sarah Collins
kjorgen5@uwyo.edu

Douglas Kamaru (MS)

Linkages between mutualism breakdown, landscape change, and predator-prey dynamics in a human-occupied savanna
Advisor: Jacob Goheen

Ellen Keaveny (PhD)


Advisor: Michael Dillon
ekeaveny@uwyo.edu

Khasoha Leo Malingati (PhD)

Role of dietary specialization and dispersal in mantaining species abundance and occupancy in a small mammal community
Advisor: Jacob Goheen
lkhasoha@uwyo.edu

Carrie Kyle (MS)

Full annual cycle ecology: evaluating the seasonal movements of migratory mule deer, elk and moose living in a common environment
Advisor: Matthew Kauffman
ckyle@uwyo.edu

Tayler LaSharr (PhD)

Making a living in a harsh world: how does life-history, nutrition, and environment influence the behavior and survival of a long-lived, iteroparous mammal?
Advisor: Kevin Monteith
tlasharr@uwyo.edu

Audrey Martin (MS)

Orange-breasted and bat falcon comparitive genomics: inbreeding and isolation
Advisor: Carlos Martinez del Rio, Matt Carling

Lindsay Martinez (MS)

Evaluating moose demography and habitat use in the Bighorn Mountains, Wyoming
Advisor: Matthew Kauffman

Kaitlyn McKnight (PhD)

Drivers of ecosystem stability in Great Lakes fish communities
Advisor: William Fetzer, Lauren Shoemaker
kmcknig2@uwyo.edu

Nicholas R Minor (PhD)

Sampling Across Space and Time: An Investigation of Demographic History in Lazuli Bunting (Passerina amoena) Populations
Advisor: Matt Carling
nminor1@uwyo.edu

Francisco J Molina (PhD)

Behaviorally-mediated trophic cascades: Experimental tests of puma-guanaco interactions in Patagonia
Advisor: Jacob Goheen
fmolina@uwyo.edu

Ahsleigh Pikerton (MS)

Sediment and Fisheries: An Assessment to Inform Sediment Management Practices at Wyoming Dams
Advisor: Annika Walters, Frank Rahel
apilkert@uwyo.edu

Marie-Pier Poulin (MS)

The role of forage availability and sociality in how ungulates interact with highways
Advisor: Jerod Merkle
mpoulin1@uwyo.edu

Eric Quallen (PhD)

The effects of knowledge transfer among individuals on population dynamics of a small abundant mammal
Advisor: Merav Ben-David
equallen@uwyo.edu

Bobby Riotto (MS)

A statewide survey of spotted skunks in Wyoming: habitat selection, distribution, and optimizing survey methodologies
Advisor: Merav Ben-David
rriotto@uwyo.edu

Chance Roberts (MS)

Evaluating critical food web linkages and ecology of Lake Trout within Flaming Gorge Reservoir
Advisor: William Fetzer, Sarah Collins
trober35@uwyo.edu

Caroline Rosinski (MS)

Ecological factors influencing Kokanee Salmon populations in New Fork Lakes, WY
Advisor: William Fetzer
crosins1@uwyo.edu

Kelsey Ruehling (MS)

Investigating sources of microbial pollution in Wyoming streams for informed management of waterborne pathogens
Advisor: Sarah Collins
kruehlin@uwyo.edu

Jake Ruthven (MS)

Evaluating the effects of Brook Stickleback on native nongame fishes in the Bighorn and North Platte Drainages, Wyoming
Advisor: Annika Walters
jruthven@uwyo.edu

Mallory Sandoval Lambert (MS)

Energy development thresholds for migratory mule deer and pronghorn in Wyoming
Advisor: Jerod Merkle
mlamber5@uwyo.ed

Emily Shertzer (PhD)

Full life-cycle effects of energy development on sagebrush-obligate songbirds
Advisor: Anna Chalfoun
eshertze@uwyo.edu

Sam Sillen (MS)

Harmful cyanobacteria bloom (HCB) dynamics in Wyoming reservoirs
Advisor: Sarah Collins
ssillen@uwyo.edu

Christina Sluka (PhD)

Evaluating the effects of urban and rural environements on raccoon (Procyon lotor) cognition and skull morphology
Advisor: Merav Ben-David & Sarah Benson-Amram
csluka@uwyo.edu

Rachel Smiley (MS)

Interactions of nutrition, immune function, and disease response in bighorn sheep
Advisor: Kevin Monteith
rsmiley@uwyo.edu

Austin B Smith (MS)

Understanding habitat relationships of forest carnivores in Wyoming
Advisor: Joe Holbrook
asmit167@uwyo.edu

Rashmi Thapa (PhD)

Longitudinal study of TDP-43 depletion in mice model of dementia
Advisor: Yun Li
rthapa4@uwyo.edu

Rebecca Thomas-Kuzilik (MS)

Behavioral plasticity of large mammals to extreme heat in the Rocky Mountains
Advisor: Jerod Merkle
rthomask@uwyo.edu

Alissa Tiemann (MS)

Evaluating Movement Patterns of Roundtail Chub and Flannelmouth Sucker in the Blacks Fork Subbasin
Advisor: Annika Walters
atiemann@uwyo.edu

Eric VanNatta (MS)

Investigating Spatiotemporal Responses of Elk to Human Recreation: An Assessment within Critical Time Stages
Advisor: Joe Holbrook
evannatt@uwyo.edu

Tana Verzuh (PhD)

Effects of memory and learning on space use of a reintroduced large mammal
Advisor: Jerod Merkle
tverzuh@uwyo.edu

Jordan Von Eggers (MS)

Using aeDNA in sediment cores to assess the effect of fish introduction on aquatic communities and biodiversity in alpine lakes
Advisor: Bryan Shuman (Geol) Amy Krist
jvonegge@uwyo.edu

Brittany Wagler

Bighorn sheep nutrition and disease
Advisor: Kevin Monteith
bwagler@uwyo.edu

Yihan Wang (PhD)


Advisor: Qian-Quan Sun
ywang28@uwyo.edu

Colton Webb (MS)

Examining ecological factors limiting the upstream distribution of fishes in the central Rocky Mountain region
Advisor: Frank Rahel
cwebb8@uwyo.edu

Arielle Wimmer (MS)

Assessing phenotypic plasticity in the New Zealand mud snail
Advisor: Amy Krist
awimmer@uwyo.edu

Contact Us

Department of Zoology and Physiology

1000 E. University Ave

Aven Nelson, room 114

Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: 307-766-4207

Fax: 307-766-5625

Email: zprequest@uwyo.edu

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon