Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
rocky mountain Field Trip 2019 john Hebberger

Geology and Geophysics

  • UW geology and geophysics students sitting on rocks at the 2019 field camp

    Geology & Geophysics Field Camp, California 2019

  • UW geology and geophysics students on side of hill examining rocks

    150 students, 26 faculty, scholarship accounts worth over $620,000

  • FIG 2019 Ken Sims Yellowstone

    Prof Ken Sims and Dr Susan Swapp leading the Freshman Interest Group (FIG) in Yellowstone 2019

  • Heart in the Sky- diversity and inclusivity  image

    Diversity & Inclusivity: we will strive in all our endeavors to promote diversity and advance inclusion and equity in thought, perspective, culture and human identity (click image for more)

  • University of Wyoming department of Geology and Geophysics building

    Ranked best value Geology Department in the country in 2019, 2020 and 2021

Department News


UW Department of Geology and Geophysics once again ranked best value for money

The Department of Geology and Geophysics at the University of Wyoming has been ranked No. 1 in the nation in a new 2021 “best value” list by College Factual, an online service that helps “every student get their best fit education for less”.  The rankings also take into account the average time students take to graduate, as well as the quality the school provides and the average yearly cost of attendance.

Read More


Neil Humphrey Greenland Vertical Dance

Professor Neil Humphrey- UW President's Speaker 2020

Professors Neil Humphrey and Margaret Wilson (Theatre & Dance) presented " When Ice Breathes", a virtual multimedia program for the fall semester’s installment of the President’s Speaker Series. The presentation highlighted their collaborative work in vertical dance and Neil's research on the Greenland ice sheet. The President’s Speaker Series encourages and honors individual faculty members who have successfully balanced the research, educational and service goals of the university.

Watch here


John Kaszuba Wold ChairProfessor  John Kaszuba selected as John and Jane Wold Centennial Chair in Energy

The University of Wyoming has named Professor John Kaszuba as the recipient of the John and Jane Wold Centennial Chair in Energy. Established in 1990, the Wold Chair boasts a rich history as the first fully funded endowed academic chair at UW. The mission of the Wold Chair is to advance energy-related research and teaching for the benefit of Wyoming, with a focus on recipients who demonstrate a dedication to student instruction.

Congratulations to John.


Tom Minckley and Patrick Kikut, organizers of the Sesquicentennial Colorado River Exploring Expedition, raft down the Colorado River in the Grand Canyon. (Bailey Russel PhotoProfessor Tom Minckley and lead-artist Patrick Kikut (Visual and Literary Arts) still collaborating on the 2019 SCREE Expedition

The Sesquicentennial Colorado River Exploring Expedition (SCREE) project, led by University of Wyoming geology & geophysics Professor Tom Minckley, is a collective group of artists, authors, conservationists and scholars who will engage with citizens along the Colorado River corridor to consider visions for the future of the region. Nearly two years after Minckley and Kikut ended their trip on the shores of Lake Mead, they are still working on this expedition, through painting, writing, and outreach that comes from trying to look at a socio-ecosystem whole as they did with the Colorado River Basin.

Read more here


Recent Publications

❯ Read More Publications

Video Highlights

Department Highlights

JJ Shinker

Faculty Highlight

Congratulations to Professor JJ Shinker for being honoured as a "Top Prof" at the 41st annual Top Prof Night. Members of the Cap and Gown Chapter of Mortar Board selected professors who have positively influenced their lives at UW. These professors go beyond normal classroom expectations to help their students succeed.

Nadia Dworian, Andrew miller and Abigail Pirkle

Student Highlight

Undergraduate students Nadia Dworian, Andrew Miller and Abigail Pirkle win the Mineralogical Society of America's Undergraduate Prize which recognizes outstanding students who have shown an interest and ability in the discipline of mineralogy. Congratulations Abigail, Andrew & Nadia.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon