Contact Us

Institutional Communications
Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: (307) 766-2929

Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

UW Awards Top Scholarship to 101 Wyoming Students

Some 101 outstanding high school seniors from across Wyoming have been selected to receive the 2019 Trustees' Scholars Award, the University of Wyoming's top academic scholarship.

The premier scholarship for Wyoming resident high school seniors covers actual credit hours taken as well as room and board costs for eight semesters at UW, starting with the fall 2019 semester. Students from 31 high schools, along with home-school students, were chosen.

Recipients are evaluated on their academic excellence (high school grade-point average, ACT/SAT scores and curriculum rigor). Individual interviews were held as well. For this year’s award winners, the average GPA is 3.97, and the average ACT score is 32.

“We are excited to welcome this outstanding group of Wyoming students to the state’s flagship university this fall,” UW Admissions Director Shelley Dodd says.

To retain the scholarship all four years at UW, students must maintain full-time continuous enrollment (at least 12 semester hours) during the fall and spring semesters each year, along with a 3.25 cumulative GPA.

Recipients of the 2019 scholarship, listed by high schools they’re attending along with their chosen majors, are:

Buffalo High School -- Matthew Gardner, mechanical engineering; and Marc Wodahl, exploratory studies.

Burlington High School -- Ammon Bullinger, electrical engineering.

Campbell County High School -- Ethan Marshall, mechanical engineering.

Cheyenne Central High School -- Colter Anderson, business (undeclared); Maren Anderson, exploratory studies; Isabel Bivona, biology; Bailey Bowcutt, molecular biology; Joshua Broomfield, business economics; Jenna Goodrich, exploratory studies; Julia Horst, biology; Claudia Miller, engineering (undeclared); Rudy Nesvik, chemical engineering; Alyson Ottoes, exploratory studies; Maggie Rossman, exploratory studies; Lauren Salsgiver, exploratory studies; Austin Stephen, exploratory studies; and Yingzhou Widi, psychology.

Cheyenne East High School -- Abigail Brady, molecular biology; Abby Erickson, chemical engineering; Meghan Higgins, civil engineering; Maeve Knepper, economics; Emily Purifoy, animal and veterinary science; and Tristin Waggener, economics.

Douglas High School -- Kirsten Caskey, exploratory studies; and Zoe Short, astronomy and astrophysics.

Evanston High School -- Weston Wiley, exploratory studies.

Farson-Eden High School -- Shad Sellers, chemical engineering.

Glenrock High School -- Cole James, computer science; and Kale Kuhlman, biology.

Green River High School -- Hannah Thomas, chemical engineering.

Greybull High School -- Avery Howe, journalism; and Mckenzie Mazur, zoology.

Guernsey-Sunrise High School -- McKenzie Romero, English.

Home school -- Chad Dechert, Pavillion, theater and dance; Calvin Gilmer, Sheridan, political science; Tarje Grover, Powell, music performance; and Grace Ritschard, Cheyenne, outdoor recreation and tourism management.

Jackson Hole High School -- Spencer Berezay, engineering (undeclared); Benjamin Brown, engineering (undeclared); Sarah Greger, health sciences (undeclared); and Parker Rowe, engineering (undeclared).

Kelly Walsh High School -- Hadley Lloyd, political science; Brant Rieker, computer engineering; and Lexie Tippin, finance.

Lander Valley High School -- Noelle Harris, exploratory studies.

Laramie High School -- Luna Adelt, psychology; Krisanna Andrews, biology; Helena Bryant, energy systems engineering; Sabrina Considine, finance; Allison Dodds, exploratory studies; Noah Dreiling, economics; Graeme Ernest-Hoar, physiology; Jakob Heinz, engineering (undeclared); William Hopkins, economics; Isaac Kern, exploratory studies; Sai Kit Ng, microbiology; Benjamin Taboga, business (undeclared); Anthony Trent, computer science; Annie Walgren, exploratory studies; Bradley Walgren, exploratory studies; and David Zhang, molecular biology.

Lovell High School -- Jacob Grant, computer science; and Brenden Lundberg, kinesiology and health promotion.

Natrona County High School -- Taliah Blom, chemical engineering; Chandra Frank, statistics; Karson Potter, computer science; Ben Radosevich, biology; and Isabella Schultz, architectural engineering.

Pinedale High School -- Toby Covill, biology.

Powell High School -- Alan Merritt, mechanical engineering; and Lucy Sullivan, engineering (undeclared).

Rawlins High School -- Toby Arment, exploratory studies.

Riverton High School -- Kami Bolte, marketing; and Madilyn Johnston, computer science.

Rock Springs High School -- Antonina Klatka, engineering (undeclared); Breanna Mathis, biology; Racheal Pinkham, exploratory studies; and Sydney Shannon, kinesiology and health promotion.

Rocky Mountain High School -- Kalley Collins, computer science.

Sheridan High School -- Marissa Brenneman, Spanish; Jonathan Briggs, physiology; Heather Craig, theater and dance; Patrick Hamilton, business economics; Mara Lannan, mechanical engineering; Kellen Mentock, engineering (undeclared); Rachel Petersburg, chemical engineering; Kimberly Solti, engineering (undeclared); and Giovanna Vaira, exploratory studies.

Southeast Goshen High School -- Jared Clapper, exploratory studies; and Kaci Schmick, pre-pharmacy.

Star Valley High School -- Josephine Currie, nursing; and Emmeline Heywood, economics.

Torrington High School -- Rylie Hill, nursing; Emi Glass, psychology; and Maryssa Lira, microbiology.

Upton High School -- Annika Coberly, molecular biology.

Wheatland High School -- Katie Currier, kinesiology and health promotion; Carlos Garcia, physiology; and Elyse Rutherford, exploratory studies.

Wright High School -- Shelby Apodaca, engineering (undeclared).

For more information about the UW Trustees’ Scholars Award, as well as other scholarship opportunities at UW, go to



Contact Us

Institutional Communications
Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: (307) 766-2929

Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)