Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Grand Teton Task Force

The University of Wyoming Grand Teton Task Force

The UW Grand Teton Task Force, initiated by the Office of Research and Economic Development, has been working to re-envision how UW faculty and collaborators work in Grand Teton National Park, at the campus of the UW-NPS Research Center facility within the Park at the historic AMK Ranch on Jackson Lake (https://uwnps.org/).

The process has aimed to develop an updated vision, mission, and strategic plan for programming to complement UW’s long-term partnership with the National Park Service and renewed UW Board of Trustee investment in the physical facilities at the AMK Ranch.

On January 22, 2020, the Task Force presented a new vision statement to the UW Board of Trustees. Next steps include a call for faculty working groups to develop long-term plans for >10-year programs of activities at the Grand Teton campus.

On March 2, 2020 he College of Arts and Sciences hosted an AMK Research Conversation meeting. From that conversation a Google document has been created to assist the creation of potential partnerships and collaborations. 

Please click here to provide your name, email, and a short statement of your research expertise and interests for potential partnerships and collaborations.

 

Crossing Divides – UW Grand Teton Task Force update -3/20/2020

 

The UW Grand Teton Task Force focused on strategic planning for the UW-NPS facility at the AMK Ranch in Grand Teton National Park is continuing to move forward with the Crossing Divides initiative to stimulate campus-wide engagement (http://www.uwyo.edu/research/grand-teton-task-force/)

 One-page statements of interest from collaborative groups of 3-8 faculty are due by March 31st. However, due to the challenges associated with covid-19, working groups should contact Bryan Shuman (bshuman@uwyo.edu) if they intend to submit a statement of interest but will require more time to sufficiently organize.

 We had planned to have an engagement session next week to facilitate relevant collaborations, but will post-pone that event. Interested faculty still seeking collaborators should view and contribute to the list of potential participants initiated by the College of Arts and Sciences (https://docs.google.com/document/d/1t9EKPtrLbUErgi6MNLoHSoR-h-vUIUdAnFbmkbUdsBc/edit). Please contact potential collaborators directly if you see opportunities to work together.

 At this time, working groups should consider how they might make use of workshop time at the AMK Ranch during the summer, but should also consider contingencies for working together remotely if necessary.  Although we may face continued disruption to our normal programs, we hope to still advance the planning for future programs.

 


Task Force members include:

Bryan Shuman (chair), Geology and Geophysics: bshuman@uwyo.edu

Michael Dillon, UW-NPS Research Center, Zoology & Physiology: Michael.Dillon@uwyo.edu

Ed Synakowski, VP for Research and Economic Development: esynakow@uwyo.edu

 

James Arvanitakis, Fullbright Fellow, School of Politics, Public Affairs, and International Studies: jarvanit@uwyo.edu

Brad Bonner, UW Trustee

Drew Bennett, Haub School: Drew.Bennett@uwyo.edu

Kelly Crane, Cooperative Extension Service: kcrane1@uwyo.edu

Brent Ewers, Botany, Biodiversity Institute, Wyoming EPSCoR: BEEwers@uwyo.edu

Daniel Dale, College of Arts and Sciences, Physics and Astronomy: DDale@uwyo.edu

Andrea Graham, American Studies & History: agraha12@uwyo.edu

Sam Kalen, UW College of Law: skalen@uwyo.edu

Matt Kauffman, Wyoming Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit: mkauffm1@uwyo.edu

Ricki Klages: Visual and Literary Arts: RLK@uwyo.edu

Frieda Knobloch, American Studies & History: Knobloch@uwyo.edu

Kate Miller, Provost: kate.miller@uwyo.edu

Katrina McGee, UW Foundation: kmcgee1@uwyo.edu

Ginger Paige, Ecosystem Science and Management: GPaige@uwyo.edu

Ramesh Sivanpillai, WyGISC: Sivan@uwyo.edu

Tarissa Spoonhunter, Central Wyoming College: tspoonhu@cwc.edu

Annika Walters, Wyoming Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit: Annika.Walters@uwyo.edu

 

 

Contact Us

Office of Research & Economic Development

Dept. 3355, 1000 E. University Avenue

Old Main Room 305/308

Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-5353

Fax: (307) 766-2608

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon