Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Extension Celebrates Outstanding Performance With 2021 Awards

June 13, 2022

At its annual spring conference in Laramie, University of Wyoming Extension congratulated the following 2021 award recipients for their dedication and service.

Jim Debree Excellence in Extension Award

Goshen County 4-H educator Megan Brittingham earned the Jim Debree Excellence in Extension Award -- UW Extension’s highest honor -- for her outstanding performance, leadership and professionalism.

In addition to leading traditional 4-H programming, such as project workshops and judging practice, Brittingham has expanded nontraditional programs in her county. Local students look forward to her classroom programs, including hatching chicks, designed to present lessons in a fun and interactive way.

As one nominator notes, “Megan strives to ensure all those around her grow as individuals, serve others and embrace the possibilities of expanding knowledge.” She is engaged, forward-thinking and “always puts her emphasis on education and 4-H members.”

Brittingham joined UW Extension in 2010. She previously received the Newer Employee Recognition Award and Creative Excellence Award.

Newer Employee Award

Joddee Jacobsen, Natrona County 4-H youth development educator, received the Newer Employee Award. This honor recognizes excellent performance by employees with no more than six years in UW Extension.

Jacobsen brings a passion for learning and teaching to the UW Extension team. During the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, her dedication and ability to think outside the box ensured that 4-H participants didn’t have to miss out on the annual county fair. It may have looked a little different from other years but, thanks to Jacobsen, the show went on -- and was a great success.

Nominators agree that she “has a way of bringing out the best in people and ensuring that they are successful. She takes ‘team player’ to the next level.”

In addition to her role as an extension educator, Jacobsen is a Wyoming representative in the Western Extension Leadership Development program.

Creative Excellence Recognition Award

Faced with a global pandemic, the Agriculture and Horticulture Online Convention 2021 Coordination Team -- Scott Cotton, David Keto, Kristi Hansen, John Hewlett and Jennifer Thompson -- leapt into action, designing a multiday, web-based conference. For its efforts, the team earned the Creative Excellence Recognition Award.

In a show of creative collaboration, the convention team facilitated real-time roundtable discussions, question-and-answer sessions via Zoom and access to recorded presentations. The new conference model increased engagement and accessibility across the state while successfully capturing a wide variety of extension programming.

UW Extension Director Kelly Crane commends the awardees for finding “new ways to deliver educational programs and reach new audiences.”

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon