Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Economics and Finance|College of Business

Department Recognition Awards

Every year the Department of Economics and Finance awards faculty and students for their accomplishments throughout the year.  The awards are presented at the Annual College of Business Awards Banquet in April.  Below is a list of the faculty, graduate student, and undergraduate student awards.

Crocker Young Scholar Award

This annual award of $2,500 was established in 2006 by Tom Crocker and Judy Powell.  It is awarded to the best as yet unpublished paper authored or co-authored by the junior faculty, as judged by the endowed faculty in our department. The winner is announced by the end of the Fall semester and is asked to present his or her paper in a public seminar in the Spring semester, as part of the College Research Series. Nominations can be submitted to Cindy Ishkanian at

Past winners include:

2012 Hilla Skiba and Nicole Choi, "Information aquisition, international under-diversification and portfolio performance of institutional investors"
2011 Hilla Skiba, "Information immobility, industry concentration, and institutional investors' performance"
2011 Sridhar Gogineni, "Target returns in management involved buyouts: an analysis of controlling mechanisms"
2010 Alexandre Skiba, "How geography affects quality"
2009 Klaas van 't Veld, "Green clubs"
2008 James Gunderson, "Equity market participation, risk aversion, and information-aggregation bias"
2007 Tatyana Sokolyk, "The effects of governance provisions on acquisition targets"
2007 David Finnoff, "Syphilis cycles"
2006 Klaas van 't Veld, "Excessive spending by firms to avoid accidents:  is it a concern in practice?"

William E. Morgan Graduate Award

This endowed scholarship was established in 2003 by colleagues, family, and friends in honor of Dr. William E. Morgan.  The scholarship is awarded to a student who epitomizes the ideals of the graduate program that Bill did so much to create and support.

Click here to see a list of past winners.

62nd Annual College of Business Awards for Economics & Finance

Best Ph.D. Economics Graduate Student Award
Yuanhao Li (Boading, Hebei, China)

Best Master's Economics Graduate Student Award
Yoshiyuki Igarashi (Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan)

Best First-Year Economics Graduate Student Award
Rik Chakraborti (Burdwan, India)

Best Master's Finance Graduate Student Award
Trevor Hixon (Gillette, WY)

Best Dual Master's Student Award
Eric T. Becker (Gillette, WY)

Best Economics Senior Award
Nicholas A. Carollo (Kemmerer, WY)

Best Economics Junior Award
Kristina M. Huston (Jackson, WY)

John S. Bugas Macro Theory Award
Perry J. Baptista (Elizabeth, CO)

John S. Bugas Micro Theory Award
William S. Consoliver (Kelso, WA)

Best Finance Senior Award
Colin W. Herold (Thermopolis, WY)

Best Finance Junior Award
Natalie M. Hurst (Larkspur, CO)

Wall Street Journal Student Achievement Award
Julie A. Novotny (Bushnell, NE)

William E. Morgan Graduate Award
Anteneh Tesfaw (Addis Abada, Ethiopia)

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader