Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Content

State Authorization|The Outreach School

On October 29, 2010, the U.S. Department of Education (USDOE) released new “program integrity” regulations.  One of the regulations focused on the need for institutions offering distance or correspondence education to acquire authorization from any state in which it "operates.”  This authorization is required to maintain eligibility for students of that state to receive federal financial aid. Institutions have until July 1, 2014, to have obtained the appropriate approvals. Meanwhile, institutions are required to demonstrate a 'good faith' effort to comply in each state in which it serves students.

The implementation of the Higher Education Act and current state authorization regulations has affected the admission of out-of-state students in the University of Wyoming’s distance education programs.  At this time, the University of Wyoming will not be admitting distance education students from the following states: Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, and Minnesota. We have adopted this policy to comply with regulations in these states.

Current students from these states will be allowed to complete their program.


This page is currently under construction. Check back here for additional information about State Authorization as it becomes available.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us