Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Local Students Selected for UW Summer High School Institute

May 20, 2009

The University of Wyoming has selected 82 talented Wyoming sophomores to participate in the annual Summer High School Institute (SHSI) June 7-27, at UW.

The students, nominated for SHSI by their schools and then selected by a group of UW faculty members, enjoy a rare opportunity to learn and exchange ideas without concern about grades or credits.

The program draws talented high school sophomore students to UW for an intensive examination of unanswered questions and unresolved challenges. Among areas to be studied are world hunger, robotic and computer engineering, knights and cowboys, drama, ethics and society, weather and aviation, understanding cultural development, pharmacy and folk tales from around the world.

The goals are to help selected high school students achieve their academic and personal potential and cultivate leadership capabilities. The program is designed to expand students' horizons, develop their adaptability, creativity and critical thinking abilities, and heighten their sensitivity to future possibilities for themselves and society. SHSI strives to stimulate and reward excellence in Wyoming schools.

A select group of UW faculty members and special consultants will work closely with students in classes, seminars and extracurricular activities. An array of stimulating speakers and films, field trips and recreational events also will be offered.
Applications for next year's institute will be available at all Wyoming high schools in early December.

The students and their high schools are:

Arvada-Clearmont Junior/Senior High School -- Charlotte McClain.

Big Horn High School -- Michael Eliason.

Big Piney High School -- Hannah Scherbel.

Campbell County High School -- Keith Krajnik.

Casper Natrona County High School -- Mark Schenfisch.

Cheyenne Central High School -- Jacob Adney; Tyler Graham; Harold Kanter; Ethan Oberg; Ellen Sloan; Connor Walters.

Cheyenne East High School
-- Mallory Carr; Moseh Cho; Nathaniel Hall; Christina Morice-Allen.

Cody High School --
Ashley Briesmeister; Melinda Eatherly; Christopher Irwin; Lee Livingston II; Joseph Rackleff.

Cokeville Junior/Senior High School
-- Mariah Boyer.

Douglas High School -- Caitlyn Bland.

Dubois Junior/Senior High School -- Joseph Bartlett.

Encampment High School -- Abbey Davidson.

Evanston High School -- Charles Bailey; Rocio (Navarrete) Gomez.

Glenrock High School -- Kurry Anderson; Erica Caves; Kara Lutz.

Green River High School -- Tessa Christiansen; Erin Freeman; Bethany Jones; Spencer Lane.

Greybull High School -- Ashley Hopkin; Stephanie Young.

Hanna-Elk Mountain High School -- Lexy Bayles; Andraya Cruz.

Hulett School -- Kyle Nuckolls; Cassandra Penning.

Kemmerer Junior/Senior High School -- Brandon Muller.

Lander Valley High School -- Kristen Brown; Kara Colovich.

Laramie High School -- Adarsha Dangi; Franklin Hinkley; Natalie Shih; George Wheeler.

Little Snake River Valley High School -- Alaska Burnell.

Lovell High School
-- Jennifer Long; Kenneth Moncur.

Lyman High School
-- Kasha Peterson; Korrine Sorensen.

Mountain View High School
-- Sierra West.

Pinedale High School
-- Elisa Lowham.

Powell High School --
Rachel Bjornestad; Mallory Riley.

Riverton High School
-- Jessica McGurn.

Rock Springs High School
-- Michael Granthom; Lindsey Haines; Laice O'Malley; Todd

Rocky Mountain High School
-- Nyla DeSantis; Kenia and Pilar Rivera.

Saratoga High School
-- Rebecca Burton.

Sheridan High School
-- Paolo Alberghetti; Dawson Osborn; Yelena Pacheco; Jessi Spielman.

Shoshoni Junior/Senior High School
-- Padraic Thompson.

Star Valley High School
-- Shaylyn Heiner; Jared Inskeep; Jordon Roberts.

Tongue River High School --
Josie Crackenberger.

Torrington High School
-- Jessica Keller; Natawsha Mitchell; Jennifer Voltmer.

Wheatland High School
-- Wendy Hacker.

Worland High School
-- Jerome Giudice; Eric Rothleutner; Ethan Ryan; Brandon Wilde.

Yellowstone National Park/Gardner (Montana) High School
-- Laura Bueter.

Posted on Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon