Student at graduation with Academic Affairs logo

John P. Ellbogen Lifetime Teaching Award

Purpose:  To recognize the long, distinguished and exemplary career of one senior faculty member who has excelled as a teacher at the University of Wyoming.

Eligibility: All full-time senior faculty who are well recognized, within and beyond the university, for their scholarly contributions to teaching and learning. The committee encourages the nomination of winners to other university-level awards, but selection is not restricted to previous winners.

Nominating Materials: The nominee's packet should include:

  • A letter of nomination from a University of Wyoming faculty member.

  • The nominee's current curriculum vitae.

  • Two supporting letters from faculty colleagues.

  • Two supporting letters from former students.

  • Two outside letters of support.

  • A description of the nominee's major career accomplishments as an educator, which may include:

◦Examples of nationally or internationally recognized contributions to teaching and learning, such as an award from a professional society, publications of articles, and widely acclaimed textbooks.

◦Examples of teaching activities in which study of his or her own teaching or the teaching of other educators resulted in deeper student understanding and engagement in learning. In other words, the faculty member engaged in the scholarship of teaching and learning, and colleagues are aware of the activity.

◦Examples of tangible contributions that enhanced the teaching and learning culture, such as mentoring junior faculty or graduate students, major curricular reform, leadership for extra curricular student activities that enhanced their learning environment.

◦Examples of how the candidate's scholarship in the discipline has informed his or her teaching.

Successful nominees will typically have distinguished records in all of these categories.

The Faculty Senate's Faculty Development Committee will review nominations and select awardees.  In addition, the committee will invite the President of the ASUW or a designated representative to participate.  The committee requests that a department nominate no more than one individual for this award.  Departments are welcome to re-submit unsuccessful nominations from previous years, since in any single year there are often more strong nominees than awards.

The committee will consider the nominees for these awards for the CASE U.S. Professors of the Year Award, given by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.  This national award, given in each state, emphasizes excellence and innovation in undergraduate instruction.

Please send nominations electronically, including all letters and supporting materials, to UW Faculty Affairs at or if unable to send electronically, please deliver to:

Faculty Development Committee
c/o Office of Academic Affairs
Old Main, Room 312
UW Campus

Previous Ellbogen Lifetime Award Winners

Contact Us

Office of Academic Affairs

1000 E. University Ave - Dept 3302

Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307)766.4286

Fax: (307)766.2606