Hydrogen Energy Conference Planned for July in Laramie

April 21, 2008

An energy conference focusing on hydrogen is expected to attract global experts in the field to the University of Wyoming this summer.

The fourth annual Hydrogen Energy Implementation Conference will address the technology, economics, policy, government activities and international team-building necessary to build a hydrogen economy. The conference will include a full professional program, exhibits and networking events.

Sponsored by the University of Wyoming School of Energy Resources, the event will take place July 22-24 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Laramie. The registration cost is $200. For more information or to register, contact the UW Conference Center, (307) 721-7574, or visit:

Gov. Dave Freudenthal will deliver the keynote address Wednesday, July 23, and is expected to emphasize the importance of a diverse portfolio of energy sources as the nation moves toward developing regulations on carbon dioxide emissions.

Other featured speakers will include Carl Bauer, director of the U.S. Department of Energy's National Energy Technology Laboratory, Gerry Goenewold, director of the Energy and Environmental Research Center at the University of North Dakota, and Robert Dixon of the International Energy Agency.

Business and industry leaders will offer presentations and exhibit equipment at the event. Electric Transportation Engineering Corporation (eTec), which specializes in products and services for hydrogen, hybrid and electric vehicles, will demonstrate hydrogen-fueled vehicles at the conference.

The annual conference is organized by the Mountain States Hydrogen Business Council, a non-profit trade group focusing on hydrogen energy. Also supporting the event are the U.S.-India Business Alliance, and the University of North Dakota's Energy and Environmental Research Center.

The preliminary agenda for the UW Hydrogen Energy Implementation Conference July 22-24:

Tuesday, July 22

4 p.m. -- Media event in exhibit area.
4-7 p.m. -- Registration opens.
5-7 p.m. Welcome reception in exhibit area.

Wednesday, July 23

7:30 a.m. -- Continental breakfast in exhibit area; registration opens.
8 a.m. -- Welcome, David Haberman, IF, LLC, president of the Mountain States Hydrogen Business Council, conference chair; Klaus Hanson, mayor of Laramie; Carl Bauer, director of the U.S. Department of Energy's National Energy Technology Laboratory.
8:20 a.m. -- Keynote address by Wyoming Gov. Dave Freudenthal.
9:05 a.m. -- Panel 1: Hydrogen Energy: Vision and Impact, Sanjay Puri, United States-India Business Alliance, session chair; Karen Kimball, Parsons; David Haberman; Mike Holmes, National Hydrogen Association; Mike Mead, United States Air Force.
10 a.m. -- Break.
10:20 a.m. -- Panel 2: Hydrogen Energy Business, Dan Rabun, Air Products and Chemicals Inc., session chair; Barb Heydorn, SRI International; Glenn Hamer, Arizona Chamber of Commerce; Jon Read, H2 investor; Bob Rose, U.S. Fuel Cell Council.
11:15 a.m. -- Panel 3: Coal to Hydrogen, Dan Cicero, session chair; Steve Benson, Energy and Environmental Research Center; Ray Hobbs, Arizona Public Service; Lowell Miller, Department of Energy's Office of Fossil Energy.
12:10 p.m. -- Lunch.
1:15 p.m. --Transitions To Hydrogen, Carl Bauer.
2 p.m. -- Panel 4: Enabling Technology, Rich Walters, National Energy Technology Laboratory Albany, session chair; Bob Remick, National Energy Technology Laboratory; Tom Barton, Western Research Institute; Morris Argyle, University of Wyoming.
3 p.m. -- Break.
3:20 p.m. -- Panel 5: Driving Transition: Economics, Policy, Impacts, Jeff Herholdt, West Virginia, Session Chair; John Geesman, American Council of Renewable Energy; John Harju, Energy and Environmental Research Center; Ron Surdam, Wyoming state geologist; Jack Halpern, Energy Independence Task Force, American Jewish Congress; environmental group TBD.
4:30 p.m. -- Adjourn plenary.
5 p.m. -- Exhibits close.
6 p.m. -- Dinner.

Thursday, July 24

7:30 a.m. -- Continental breakfast in exhibit area.
8 a.m.-- Gerry Groenewold, Energy and Environmental Research Center's Hydrogen Strategic Plan.
8:45 a.m. -- Panel 6: Hydrogen Energy Products and Applications, Hazen Burford, Intelligent Energy, session chair; Don Karner, Electric Transportation Engineering Corporation (eTec); Bob Boehm, University of Nevada-Las Vegas; Bob Stokes, Versa Power Systems.
9:45 a.m. -- Nation's Hydrogen Direction, JoAnn Milliken, Department of Energy H2 Program manager, "Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy."
10:15 a.m. -- Break.
10:30 a.m. -- International Cooperation in Hydrogen, Robert Dixon, International Energy Association.
11:15 a.m. -- Panel 7, International Opportunity: Programs and Initiatives, Robert Dixon, session chair; Engin Ture, chief scientist, United Nations Center for Hydrogen Energy; plus representatives from China, Brazil, Scotland, Canada, India and Israel.
12:15 p.m. -- Adjourn.

Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)