Wyoming Students Benefit from Rocky Mountain Power Foundation Grant

June 11, 2008

The Rocky Mountain Power Foundation awarded $34,000 to the University of Wyoming for education and research programs and scholarships for entering freshmen.

The gift will in part fund 12 $1,000 scholarships for freshmen from various Wyoming communities. Rocky Mountain Power and the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation have gifted $461,350 to UW since 1991.

"The Rocky Mountain Power Foundation allocates grants to organizations that best serve community interests," said Lilisa Hall, the foundation's executive director. "The University of Wyoming is a distinguished institution that opens doors of opportunity for young adults by providing them with a well-rounded and exceptional education."

"Providing educational opportunities to young adults is essential to ensuring our communities continue to thrive," said Harold Babbitt, Rocky Mountain Power customer and community manager. "These young adults are our future and we are proud to help invest in their future by helping to provide scholarships to University of Wyoming freshmen."

The grant also supports other campus programs, including College of Engineering and Applied Science Senior Design Symposium, William D. Ruckelshaus Institute and Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources, UW Art Museum, UW Center for Volunteer Service and the UW/Casper College Center.

"I am very honored to receive this scholarship, which will assist me in achieving all of my educational and career goals," said recipient Jennifer Dundas of Casper. "My educational goals are to continue on the track of receiving a bachelor's degree in nursing."

"The University of Wyoming has enjoyed a great partnership with Rocky Mountain Power and the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation for many years," said Ben Blalock, UW vice president for institutional advancement and president of the UW Foundation. "This gift is an example of the important role that corporate support plays in advancing opportunities for UW students. We appreciate all what Rocky Mountain Power and the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation continue to do for Wyoming's university."

The Rocky Mountain Power Foundation is part of the PacifiCorp Foundation, one of the nation's largest utility-endowed foundations. The foundation was created in 1988 by PacifiCorp, an electric utility serving 1.7 million customers in six Western states as Rocky Mountain Power (Utah, Wyoming and Idaho) and Pacific Power (Oregon, Washington and California). The foundation's mission, through charitable investments, is to support growth and vitality of the communities it serves.

For more information, visit www.rockymountainpower.net/rmpfoundation.
Rocky Mountain Power Foundation scholarship recipients for the 2007-08 academic year are:

Casper -- Jennifer Dundas, nursing; David Schmitt, undeclared.
Evanston -- Alicia Martin, mechanical engineering.
Lander -- Marissa Coppock, anthropology.
Laramie -- Caryn Wykert, structural engineering.
Lyman -- Cheyenne Wortham, marketing.
Riverton -- Alex Williams, civil engineering.
Rock Springs -- Alisha Hardin, nursing; Chelsea Porter, biology/pre-medicine; Nicole Strom, kinesiology and health; Kevin Taucher, engineering-undeclared.

Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)